Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Geoff Mitchell: Market that is driven by subsidies rather than by economics always fails

February 22, 2019 — Energy House Bill HB 19-1037, "the Colorado Energy Impact Assistance Act," highlights the complications and negative economic impacts brought about by the pursuit of energy and public utility regulation policies and subsidies that are based on setting CO2 emission targets. Local elected officials who might

Learn more »

Janet Lydick: Is Steamboat losing its identity?

February 22, 2019 — Is Steamboat Springs going to be charmless? Is it losing its identity as a beautiful mountain town? My opinion doesn't particularly matter, but there is no question Steamboat lacks the vision of a sustainable environment — an environment with housing, workplaces, civic facilities, shops and

Learn more »

Rich Levy: Let’s see how ‘split’ our community is on West Steamboat Neighborhoods annexation

February 22, 2019 — I agree with Matt Karzan’s opinion that the proposed West Steamboat Neighborhoods should be for "hard working families" as stated in his Feb. 18 letter to the editor. This is exactly what the community decided upon when crafting the consensus West of Steamboat Springs Area

Learn more »

Mike Middleton: Routt County Rifle Club welcomes West Steamboat Neighborhoods

February 21, 2019 — The Routt County Rifle Club has 40 acres of private property on the west side of Steamboat Springs. We are a nonprofit organization with 500 members. A few weeks ago, the Steamboat Springs City Council enacted an ordinance approving Brynn Grey's West Steamboat Neighborhoods development

Learn more »

Sonja Macys: Public deserves to understand council’s Marriott project decision

February 19, 2019 — I hope my friend and colleague Scott Ford's recent column helped people understand Steamboat Springs City Council's quasi-judicial role. Scott clarified the quasi-judicial process when a proposed use is allowed in a zone district. He did not clarify what happens in a case like the recent Pine

Learn more »

Maureen Smilkstein: Dogs off leash solution is waste of resources

February 19, 2019 — Let me get this straight. A speeding driver, endangering lives, gets pulled over and given a speeding ticket. This is easily paid by check or money order to the appropriate law department. A person inadvertently opens the door of their home. The dog escapes and

Learn more »

James DeFrancia: Real national emergency resides in the White House

February 18, 2019 — An emergency is defined as "an unexpected situation that demands immediate attention." Fires, hurricanes, floods and surprise enemy attacks come to mind, with the last seeming most descriptive of a "national" emergency. The President asserts that we have an "emergency" at the southern border, but,

Learn more »

Grace Powers: Trials need specific criteria to provide clear direction

February 18, 2019 — Dear members of the Steamboat Springs City Council and Parks and Recreation Commission, The Steamboat Pilot & Today's front-page story, "In the dog house …," on Feb. 18 prompted me to share my “non-dog-owner's” perspective on Steamboat's leashing debate. I attended my first City Council

Learn more »

Hans Binnendijk: Dangerous intersection needs stop signs

February 18, 2019 — Your Friday, Feb. 15 "The Record" entry included an item about a motor vehicle crash at the intersection of Walton Creek Road and Village Drive. This is not an isolated incident. It is a particularly dangerous intersection. I have witnessed at least one other recent

Learn more »

Paul Stettner: Annexation discussion shouldn’t be ‘them against us’

February 18, 2019 — The matter of annexing West Steamboat Neighborhoods has taken on an us-against-them tone in parts of our community — it does not need to. The project's cheerleaders have named those of us who question City Council about West Steamboat Neighborhoods as the old guys/curmudgeons/cavemen —

Learn more »

Steamboat school board: Thank you Advisory Committee members

February 15, 2019 — The Steamboat Springs Board of Education wants to share our sincere appreciation for the work done over the past year by the Advisory Committee to the Steamboat Springs School District. This diverse group of our fellow community members, which included parents, teachers, senior citizens, business leaders and even those

Learn more »

Roger Mersmann: Steamboat knows snow

February 15, 2019 — My name is Roger Mersmann, and I am a superintendent with McPherson Contractors. I am currently working at the Mountain Valley Bank, completing second floor tenant spaces, one of which will be our new office. I arrived Jan. 20 to your dynamic, and beautiful, mountain community.

Learn more »

Linda Delaney: Does Gardner remember Colorado?

February 14, 2019 — Senator Cory Gardner — where is he from anyway? He was one of the first to endorse President Trump for 2020. His big announcement for re-election will be hosted by Sen. Mitch McConnell and the rest of the Republican Senate leadership on Feb. 27 in Washington,

Learn more »

Beth Melton: Confusion and delay in West Steamboat

February 14, 2019 — Maybe I've been watching too much Thomas the Tank Engine with my 3-year-old (I definitely am) — but, "You are causing confusion and delay!" is the phrase that sticks in my head when I think about the petition currently being circulated to put the West

Learn more »

Scott Tipton: We must stand with the people of Venezuela against tyranny

February 14, 2019 — For centuries, the United States has been a model of freedom and democracy for the entire world. As President Reagan famously said, "America is a shining city upon a hill whose beacon light guides freedom-loving people everywhere." At a time when we see freedom threatened

Learn more »

Carl Steidtmann: When the world hands you lemons, it’s time to make lemonade

February 13, 2019 — First, I would like to thank Scott Ford, Kathi Mayer and Robin Crossan for their principled and courageous stand against the raging mob in their decision to support the rule of law. You have truly demonstrated profiles in courage in choosing not to reopen the

Learn more »

Our View: Grace under pressure

February 13, 2019 — Despite a packed Centennial Hall and a petition signed by over 1,500 city residents, Steamboat Springs City Council members Robin Crossan, Scott Ford and Kathi Meyer stuck to their original decision and chose not to make a motion to reconsider their vote to approve a

Learn more »

Ken Gold: Pine Grove Road is bad location for hotel

February 12, 2019 — I strongly oppose the approval of the Residence Inn project previously approved by Steamboat Springs City Council to be located at Pine Grove Road and Rollingstone Drive, and I urge the City Council to reconsider their decision to approve this project or, at the very

Learn more »

Bere Neas: Council urged to table hotel project approval

February 11, 2019 — Honorable Steamboat Springs City Council members, My name is Bere Neas. I was born and raised in Steamboat Springs. My father Irlan Neas was a banker in the community for over 50 years and was mayor in the 1960s and also past chairman of the

Learn more »

Paul Andrews: Council should remedy its poor decision on Marriott project

February 11, 2019 — I am reaching out to Steamboat Springs City Council members with my request for reconsideration and denial of the Marriott proposal on the basis that it violates many aspects of the city's Area Development Plan. These policies provide direction for elected and appointed administrators in

Learn more »