Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Loren Wood: Support the Continental Cup

December 13, 2018 — The world is coming to Steamboat Springs, so it is time for Steamboat to say welcome to the world. This weekend Nordic combined athletes from 14 countries are scheduled to compete in the Continental Cup at Howelsen Hill. This will be a historic event for

Learn more »

Bob Enever: People have right to decide how big the city should be

December 13, 2018 — Steamboat Springs City Council has studied the plans of Brynn Grey and negotiated with them for 2 1/2 years, and they are close to approving an ordinance representing the best deal they could get. After spending hundreds of hours of their own volunteer time studying

Learn more »

Letter: The essence of community service — Chris Gander

December 13, 2018 — Like many parents, Chris Gander had a desire to see his daughters go to school in the community in which they lived, rather than travel on a school bus almost two hours a day. So when a group of North Routt parents incorporated the North

Learn more »

Arian Moore: Let Tipton hear your views on climate change

December 11, 2018 — Diane Mitsch Bush is a supporter of finding solutions to the climate change issues that we are facing in this day and age. More than three out of five voters in Routt County voted for her in the Nov. 6 election. She lost the race to

Learn more »

Letter: No need for Steamboat over-capacity schools

December 10, 2018 — Steamboat Springs School District recently held community forums to discuss expansion options for Steamboat Springs schools. The South Routt school board, administration and students invite Steamboat families to consider another option. Just 20 minutes away is a school district with plenty of capacity and many

Learn more »

Our View: Giving Town, USA

December 10, 2018 — Steamboat Springs may be adding "Giving Town, USA" to its list of nicknames after GoFundMe announced last week that Steamboat was first on the fundraising platform's rankings of most generous cities in the U.S. The top ranking was based on donations per capita from donors

Learn more »

Jonathan Harte: Relax, embrace Medicare for all

December 10, 2018 — As a practicing physician, I feel compelled to counter the points made in the letter from Dr. Stacy Childs regarding his apocalyptic portrayal of a Medicare-for-all system.  First, a huge and growing number of physicians would prefer single-payer health care. Dr. Childs seems concerned that physicians will quit, won’t be

Learn more »

Sean Brown: DA should assist with sealing minor marijuana convictions

December 10, 2018 — Recently, Steamboat Pilot & Today reported 14th Judicial District Attorney Brett Barkey, who represents Routt, Moffat, and Grand counties, has no plans to wipe clean criminal records of minor marijuana-related convictions despite other Colorado jurisdictions doing so. Barkey stated existing law provides for those convicted

Learn more »

Elaine Dermody: Thanks to the newspaper staff

December 10, 2018 — While many are reading news on their electronic devices, I still love reading a hard copy newspaper with breakfast. I bet I'm not the only one. I especially enjoy our Steamboat Pilot & Today for keeping up with the local news and their nice selection

Learn more »

John Spezia: Pioneer scheme undermines Brynn Grey project

December 10, 2018 — After reviewing the Steamboat Springs City Council meeting of Dec. 4, I could not believe after two years of meetings on the Brynn Grey project, all the loose ends and behind-the-scenes activities that have come up when supposedly the project was all wrapped up. The

Learn more »

Stacy Childs: Medicare for all would be costly for all

December 5, 2018 — I applaud Tuesday's letter to the editor from Vail Kozatch regarding creating a Medicare-for-all system. I am glad that she has taken an interest in fixing a broken system. The Affordable Care Act made our wrecked system worse off and more expensive, despite promises to

Learn more »

Avery Globe: A thank-you note to Xcel

December 5, 2018 — While the snow is piling up, and we celebrate a great opening of the ski season, let's not forget the extremely low river flow and extensive wildfires of this past summer. Unfortunately, the rising temperatures and smoke-filled skies are becoming more and more common each

Learn more »

Our view: Transforming Steamboat’s alleyways

December 4, 2018 — Anyone who spends time in downtown Steamboat Springs has probably navigated through some of its alleyways. Oftentimes, these passageways are cluttered with dumpsters, trash cans and empty wooden palettes, but there are a few bright spots — a sunset over Rabbit Ears Pass on the

Learn more »

Vail Kozatch: Medicare for all isn’t free

December 3, 2018 — Creating a Medicare for all system would be worth it because it would cost a lot less than what we’re currently paying for our insurance right now.  Everyone would pay a fixed percentage in withholding, just as those eligible for Medicare usage do, but that’s where the

Learn more »

Nancy Kramer: Thanks to ‘the village’ of Steamboat

November 30, 2018 — I would like to extend my appreciation for the article the Steamboat Pilot & Today published last month, introducing the new Steamboat (More) Barn interpretive sign to our community. As program coordinator of the Northwest Colorado Cultural Heritage Program and grant/project manager of this project,

Learn more »

Diane Miller: Climate change is a bridge issue

November 28, 2018 — Last month the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change issued a stern warning to the world: immediate action is needed to protect coastal cities, coral reefs, thousands of plant and animal species and hundreds of thousands of human lives. Last week the federal government sounded a

Learn more »

Sarah Winebrenner: Young voters care about climate change

November 28, 2018 — In the aftermath of the 2018 midterm elections, at least one thing was made clear — younger voters are no longer willing to sit on the sidelines while our future is jeopardized by inaction on climate change. Nationally, youth turnout was the highest in 25 years.

Learn more »

Our view: Help school district find ‘common ground’

November 27, 2018 — The Steamboat Springs School District has been holding a series of "Common Ground" community forums to gather public input on building solutions to accommodate increasing enrollment and over-capacity schools, and the last one is scheduled for 9 to 10:30 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 1 at Soda

Learn more »

David Dragoo: Congress must #SaveLWCF

November 26, 2018 — With elections behind us, Congress is reconvening for its "lame duck" session. One of its first orders of business should be to permanently reauthorize our nation's most successful outdoor recreation program, the Land and Water Conservation Fund. Over its more than 50 years, the Land

Learn more »

Linda Delaney: Whatever happened to YVMC?

November 26, 2018 — If you have gotten a message to remind you of an appointment at the local hospital lately, the notification says, "This is UC Health." Since there are five medical facilities in Northwest Colorado, let alone all the others in the state, where exactly are we

Learn more »