Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Opinion: Steamboat teachers organization urges ‘yes’ vote on Amendment 73

October 22, 2018 — We are writing to urge our community to vote “yes” on Amendment 73, also known as "Great Schools, Thriving Communities." One of our government's most important functions is to provide children with a high-quality public education. It is the backbone of our democracy–an educated populace

Learn more »

Jill Duplessis: Vote ‘yes’ for Soroco schools 5A

October 22, 2018 — A few weeks ago a 2018 Soroco graduate returned from Marine Corps basic training. He returned in his uniform, his hair trimmed, with a sense of maturity and confidence emitting from him. I was so proud. Another 2018 graduate earned a scholarship to Columbia University

Learn more »

Clinton Ball: Let wildlife professionals manage Steamboat trails in regard to elk habitat

October 22, 2018 — In response to an opinion letter in the Steamboat Pilot & Today concerning recreation trails and their effect on elk populations, I thought it will be useful to add my own anecdotal and non-scientific observations of elk as well. I lived in Evergreen for a

Learn more »

Bruce Allbright: Vote ‘yes’ on 7D to sustain CMC

October 22, 2018 — Dear Editor, I'd like to congratulate the editorial staff of the Steamboat Pilot & Today for a well-written and eminently understandable explanation and justification of the 7D ballot initiative. It’s not easy for me to support anything that smells like a tax increase but 7D

Learn more »

Opinion: Five great years at Colorado Mountain College

October 21, 2018 — As the board of trustees of Colorado Mountain College, we have a solemn duty to advance the mission of the college, and, in doing so, serve the dozens of communities that make up CMC's vast geographic service area. This is accomplished in a number of

Learn more »

John Bristol: 2A is economic development

October 21, 2018 — The goal of economic development is to foster a diverse economy that supports the economic well-being and quality of life of a community. This is achieved by targeting the retention and expansion of primary jobs, which is a type of job that brings outside dollars

Learn more »

Letter: Main Street supports passage of 2A

October 20, 2018 — The Main Street Steamboat board of directors believes the Yes2Air program will strongly benefit our community. The program will allow for expansion of the summer flights while stabilizing our offerings in the winter. Being able to provide consistent air service to our community is beneficial

Learn more »

Ashley McMurray: Hayden should vote ‘yes’ on 4A

October 19, 2018 — This election, Hayden voters have the choice to vote “yes” or “no” on Referendum 4A, a referendum that would continue needed funding for Hayden schools. A vote “yes” is critical. If Referendum 4A does not pass, current funding will expire in 2020, leaving Hayden schools

Learn more »

Ken Brenner: Vote ‘yes’ on 7D

October 18, 2018 — Our local governments and the essential services they provide to our communities are again under attack. Residential property tax revenue decreases, mandated by the 1982 Gallagher Amendment, hurt the budgets of firefighters/emergency medical services, schools, city and county governments, libraries and water districts. I'm asking

Learn more »

Michelle Petix: 2B — the power of one

October 18, 2018 — The Partners in Routt County's youth mentoring programs are based on the power of one-on-one relationships. Research strongly supports the positive impact of mentoring across all ages, demographics and geography … it is embraced and celebrated in the corporate world, sport stadiums, schools and communities.

Learn more »

Hagenbuch family: Vote ‘yes’ on 5A

October 18, 2018 — As people go to their mailboxes this week and take out their ballots, they will be faced with many critical decisions. While some of their decisions may be difficult, we hope they find one that is an easy choice. Our community has always supported education

Learn more »

ZIRKEL Wireless: Rural areas deserve broadband

October 18, 2018 — We live in a world where access to fast and affordable internet is no longer a luxury but a necessity. We also live in a location where not everyone has even basic access to internet service. Over the last few years, the FCC has been

Learn more »

Kristin Bantle: A new paradigm of transparency and accountability

October 17, 2018 — My core values are rooted in my community, expressed through my collaboration, heard when I communicate and demonstrated by my compassion. I have proven that I will stand up for this community, and I will continue to do so as sheriff. I possess the collaboration

Learn more »

Garrett Wiggins: School and officer safety, combating opioid abuse among priorities

October 17, 2018 — One of my first vivid memories as a young child is that of a tall, fit, dark-haired man sporting a flat-top haircut, sharply-dressed in a Florida State Trooper uniform. He was getting into a shiny, fast car with cool graphics, lights and a siren. The

Learn more »

3 ‘no’ votes, 2 ‘yes’ votes on 5 statewide ballot issues

October 17, 2018 — With a multi-page ballot this fall, featuring 10 statewide ballot issues, the Steamboat Pilot & Today Editorial Board is using today's Our View space to offer our positions on five of those measures — Amendments Y and Z, Amendment 73, Amendment 74 and Proposition 112.

Learn more »

David Wilkinson: Council needs to stop being ‘magician’ on fire funding

October 17, 2018 — I attended the City Council meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 19. I spoke briefly as the medical directer for emergency services at Yampa Valley Medical Center in support of developing a model for financial support of Steamboat Springs Fire Rescue that is consistent, predictable and appropriate

Learn more »

Margaret Huron: Let’s continue supporting education by voting ‘yes’ for 2B

October 17, 2018 — Our Steamboat community has been supportive of this half-cent sales tax for education for 25 years; please continue to do so. This is not a new tax; it is a renewal of an initiative that was developed to assist with keeping our class sizes small — an

Learn more »

Douglas Bruce: Demand true reform on Y and Z

October 17, 2018 — Readers can study a two-page essay against the gerrymandering of Amendments Y and Z by visiting 13issues.com, which also has a voter guide and essays on tax and debt issues 73, 109 and 110. First, learn a few facts on Y and Z. • Y

Learn more »

Letter: Prop. 112 would have ‘dreadful’ affect on economy, way of life

October 17, 2018 — In 1689, John Locke wrote that the law of nature obliged all humans not to harm "the life, the liberty, health, limb, or goods of another." You probably know this more commonly as the right of life, liberty and property. Locke's quote springs to mind

Learn more »

Cari Hermacinski: Concrete changes to benefit all citizens

October 16, 2018 — This November, I am asking the citizens of Routt County to re-elect me as a county commissioner. As a fifth-generation native of the Yampa Valley, an attorney and a businesswoman in the telecommunications industry, I have a longterm commitment to our county and an experienced

Learn more »