Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Shane Larson: Go for 4 at CMC

March 20, 2019 — How many times have you heard a local student say, "I'm going to CMC for two years to get my associate degree, then I'm going to transfer to (name the out-of-town college or university)?” At Colorado Mountain College, we challenge in-district students to reconsider that

Learn more »

Armando Reyes Zapata: DACA needs permanent solution

March 20, 2019 — If Congress does not take action to protect Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals — DACA — program recipients and Temporary Protected Status — TPS — holders, Colorado will suffer. Within Colorado, nearly one in 10 residents are immigrants who pay an estimated $34 million in

Learn more »

Lulu Gold: Sheriff must uphold the Red Flag law

March 20, 2019 — In response to the Feb. 27 Steamboat Pilot & Today article that stated that Sheriff Wiggins is skeptical about the Red Flag bill that, whether we agree our not, will very likely pass both chambers of the Colorado Legislature, I offer these comments. First and

Learn more »

Robin Schepper: Let’s make the Affordable Care Act better

March 20, 2019 — Ask a handful of people in our community what keeps them up at night, and I bet many will give you the same answer: health care. Access and affordability have been as issue here for many years. This week is the nine-year anniversary of the

Learn more »

Our view: Vaccines work

March 19, 2019 — Debate over whether or not vaccines cause autism and whether or not parents should risk vaccinating their children has been going on for two decades, and as a result of more parents opting not to vaccinate, Colorado now tops the list of states facing a

Learn more »

Martha “Chris” Young: Rita Valentine Park is a city park, not a dog park

March 19, 2019 — According to a Steamboat Today article published in May 2014, the current Rita Valentine Park consists of "the 40 acres donated by Curci and Turner didn't become a park until 1992 by a vote of the City Council. These votes to this day do not prohibit

Learn more »

Jan and W.M. Stalcup: Answers about school site selection needed

March 19, 2019 — I was involved in and supported the last school bond election and their committees. My interest stems from being a former educator, school volunteer, school board trustee for 12 years — board chair for eight — in Cheyenne, Wyoming. During my tenure, we built six

Learn more »

Letter to the editor: Thank your Steamboat school board for caring for every student

March 19, 2019 — Driving home from Aurora last week, following a conference held by the Colorado League of Charter Schools, members of the North Routt Community Charter School District board realized yet another reason we are thankful we live in Steamboat Springs. The Steamboat Springs board of education

Learn more »

Hal Levin: Why I live here

March 18, 2019 — I moved to Steamboat Springs in 1977 to ski. Since then, I've been very lucky with work taking me to many different cities and countries. When returning home, a wide smile ensues when the Yampa Valley comes into view. One reason for smiling is our

Learn more »

Bob Rankin: 1st column since moving over to Senate

March 18, 2019 — I skipped a month writing columns after six years of never missing one. If you read them, let me know. I suppose it's because I'm still adjusting to moving over to the state Senate and to the fact that my party is in the minority

Learn more »

Tyler Gibbs: Transparency begins long before project gets to council

March 18, 2019 — In its editorial, "City planning should be transparent," Steamboat Pilot & Today rightly supports our community's commitment to open and accessible processes in the approval of new development. However, it may perpetuate the misconception that this transparency is all about one hearing at Steamboat Springs

Learn more »

Brie Neppl: Those concerned about school sites need to get involved in process

March 18, 2019 — Moving forward together as a community is vital to creating the best future for Steamboat Springs and Routt County. Recently, there have been a number of instances where groups have come forward to oppose plans without considering the entire picture. I love the community we

Learn more »

Alicia Yost: Please be courteous; share the road

March 18, 2019 — As the weather is warming up, many people are taking their workouts outdoors. Runners, dog walkers and, even, cyclists can be found all over town enjoying the sunshine. This is a friendly reminder to please share the road. Take some extra time to stop at

Learn more »

Letter: Steamboat Springs school board thanks community volunteers

March 15, 2019 — In the Steamboat Springs School District, we are not alone as we face the challenges of a growing community. In fact, it is hard to find a local agency, nonprofit or business that is not affected by the increasing number of full-time residents in our

Learn more »

Steve Hofman: Letter had anti-Semetic intent

March 14, 2019 — Well, well, Mr. Paul Bonnifield, your March 12 letter about a Times of Israel article should not fool anyone about your anti-Semitic intent. You framed your commentary's focus on a Times of Israel article by saying "I'm sure we have all heard something about Rep.

Learn more »

Letter to the editor: We expect better from our local newspaper

March 14, 2019 — We applaud Steamboat Pilot & Today’s Feb. 26 editorial calling for greater civility in public and political debate. As the editorial said, "it’s important that we treat one another with dignity and respect, even when we disagree." We also agree that the Pilot should help to

Learn more »

Eric Washburn: Impact of Mad Rabbit trails concerning

March 14, 2019 — The Mad Rabbit trail proposal has generated considerable debate in and around Steamboat Springs. As a board member of Keep Routt Wild, I am both concerned about the impacts these trails will have in the Routt National Forest and understand the frustration expressed by many

Learn more »

Elaine Dermody: Residents need to voice opinion on 2A trail funds

March 13, 2019 — I urge residents to read "Council to discuss excess 2A trails tax money plans" in the March 12 edition of Steamboat Pilot & Today. There has been public discussion on the pros and cons of the Mad Rabbit Project, but I feel less on the

Learn more »

Our view: Council should focus on planning transparency

March 12, 2019 — We believe there's always opportunity to streamline government processes, but in the case of giving the Steamboat Springs Planning Commission more authority on planning decisions, we'd ask Steamboat Springs City Council to proceed cautiously. As we've witnessed with the recent Pine Grove Road hotel decision

Learn more »

Joyce Rankin: Have you ever considered teaching?

March 12, 2019 — Are we really in need of more teachers? The answer seems to be somewhere between "yes and no." There are more full-time specialty teachers needed in specific areas like reading coaches, social/emotional learning, director of culture, behavior counselors, STEM, etc. However, there are so many

Learn more »