Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Steamboat school board: Thank you Advisory Committee members

February 15, 2019 — The Steamboat Springs Board of Education wants to share our sincere appreciation for the work done over the past year by the Advisory Committee to the Steamboat Springs School District. This diverse group of our fellow community members, which included parents, teachers, senior citizens, business leaders and even those

Learn more »

Roger Mersmann: Steamboat knows snow

February 15, 2019 — My name is Roger Mersmann, and I am a superintendent with McPherson Contractors. I am currently working at the Mountain Valley Bank, completing second floor tenant spaces, one of which will be our new office. I arrived Jan. 20 to your dynamic, and beautiful, mountain community.

Learn more »

Linda Delaney: Does Gardner remember Colorado?

February 14, 2019 — Senator Cory Gardner — where is he from anyway? He was one of the first to endorse President Trump for 2020. His big announcement for re-election will be hosted by Sen. Mitch McConnell and the rest of the Republican Senate leadership on Feb. 27 in Washington,

Learn more »

Beth Melton: Confusion and delay in West Steamboat

February 14, 2019 — Maybe I've been watching too much Thomas the Tank Engine with my 3-year-old (I definitely am) — but, "You are causing confusion and delay!" is the phrase that sticks in my head when I think about the petition currently being circulated to put the West

Learn more »

Scott Tipton: We must stand with the people of Venezuela against tyranny

February 14, 2019 — For centuries, the United States has been a model of freedom and democracy for the entire world. As President Reagan famously said, "America is a shining city upon a hill whose beacon light guides freedom-loving people everywhere." At a time when we see freedom threatened

Learn more »

Carl Steidtmann: When the world hands you lemons, it’s time to make lemonade

February 13, 2019 — First, I would like to thank Scott Ford, Kathi Mayer and Robin Crossan for their principled and courageous stand against the raging mob in their decision to support the rule of law. You have truly demonstrated profiles in courage in choosing not to reopen the

Learn more »

Our View: Grace under pressure

February 13, 2019 — Despite a packed Centennial Hall and a petition signed by over 1,500 city residents, Steamboat Springs City Council members Robin Crossan, Scott Ford and Kathi Meyer stuck to their original decision and chose not to make a motion to reconsider their vote to approve a

Learn more »

Ken Gold: Pine Grove Road is bad location for hotel

February 12, 2019 — I strongly oppose the approval of the Residence Inn project previously approved by Steamboat Springs City Council to be located at Pine Grove Road and Rollingstone Drive, and I urge the City Council to reconsider their decision to approve this project or, at the very

Learn more »

Bere Neas: Council urged to table hotel project approval

February 11, 2019 — Honorable Steamboat Springs City Council members, My name is Bere Neas. I was born and raised in Steamboat Springs. My father Irlan Neas was a banker in the community for over 50 years and was mayor in the 1960s and also past chairman of the

Learn more »

Paul Andrews: Council should remedy its poor decision on Marriott project

February 11, 2019 — I am reaching out to Steamboat Springs City Council members with my request for reconsideration and denial of the Marriott proposal on the basis that it violates many aspects of the city's Area Development Plan. These policies provide direction for elected and appointed administrators in

Learn more »

Michael Osterman: Council has opportunity to ‘reconsider’ vote on hotel project

February 11, 2019 — Just because you can does not mean you should … Unfortunately, the corner of Pine Grove and Rollingstone roads is the wrong location for a hotel. Yes, the Planning Department, the Planning Commission and now the Steamboat Springs City Council have given the green light

Learn more »

Holly Rogers: Are we going to let them ‘pave paradise and put up a Marriott?’

February 10, 2019 — Dear Editor, “Don’t it always seem to go that you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone.” This line from a 1970 Joni Mitchell song made me think about our current controversy on the project being proposed on Pine Grove Road. Remember this song?

Learn more »

Jon Kowalsky: The Bear thanks you

February 10, 2019 — The Bear is about adventure, inclusion and community. North Routt County continues to complement our event and ideals; thank you to everyone who calls it home. We are so thankful for the incredible individuals and organizations who support us. Without The Steamboat Group, Glas Deffryn

Learn more »

Dan O’Brien: Traffic study needed for Pine Grove Road

February 8, 2019 — I don’t care for community politics, but the approval of the Residence Inn at Marriot project warrants an opinion. Traffic issues should make the project a non-starter. Period. If Wells Fargo on Third Street were to sell their parking lot, would a development of this

Learn more »

Letter: Fire rescue needs stable, long-term funding source

February 7, 2019 — In 2017, the City Council approached the Steamboat Springs Area Fire Protection District to help find a sustainable funding source for fire and emergency medical services. A work group composed of representatives of the City Council, city staff and the fire protection district convened and

Learn more »

Dylan Roberts: In full swing at the Capitol

February 6, 2019 — Thirty days down, 90 days to go. We are one month into the 2019 Colorado legislative session and what a month it has been. Here is an update on what has happened thus far and what is yet to come. On Jan. 4, I had

Learn more »

Our view: Costly conflict

February 5, 2019 — Steamboat Pilot & Today reported Jan. 25 that former Routt County Treasurer Brita Horn had racked up over $100,000 in attorney's fees with a Front Range firm during her final year in office. The amount far surpassed her $2,000 budget for legal expenses, which the

Learn more »

Andrew Meeusen: The Yampa needs us

February 5, 2019 — As Johnny Spillane so eloquently voiced in his op-ed, the beautiful river that supports anglers, as well as carries snow melt and rafters from high in the Flat Tops Wilderness Area to the Green River is in more danger each year. This past November Colorado

Learn more »

Tom Hart: Commentary overlooked key issues about shutdown

February 5, 2019 — Your “Our View” commentary in the Jan. 30 issue of the Steamboat Pilot & Today overlooked two far larger issues concerning the government shutdown. 1. Every bureaucrat and welfare recipient will receive all back monies due. 2. You completely ignored the reason for the closure

Learn more »

Patty Gold: Proposed hotel project should be denied

February 5, 2019 — I am writing to express my opinion that the proposed Marriott project on Pine Grove Road be denied. That last thing we need in this town is another ugly generic hotel property. If it needs to be developed, let’s find someone who will preserve and

Learn more »