SSWSC qualifies dozens for U16, U18 champs |

SSWSC qualifies dozens for U16, U18 champs

Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club skier Nick DeMarco earned eighth at the Rocky Mountain Division Super G Junior Championships at Steamboat Resort on Wednesday morning. (Photo by Shelby Reardon)

Steamboat Resort and Howelsen Hill will host the U16 Alpine Rocky/Central Division Championships from March 7-11.

The best athletes from the region will compete in downhill, super-G, super-G combined, giant slalom and slalom on the All Out race course at Steamboat Resort and the face of Howelsen Hill.

Six women and four men from the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club will compete for regional titles.

Noelle Roth, Abby Olson, Mollie McTigue, Katharina Cosby, Emma McHaffie and Hazel Fernley will represent Steamboat in the women’s races.

Adrian Beauregard, Caman Beauregard, Curtis Zanni and Caspian Troan will compete in the men’s races.

Additionally, 13 skiers will represent SSWSC at the U18 National Championships, the first in two years, scheduled to be held in Vail from March 1-7.

The event has just 18 spots for athletes from the Rocky/Central division, and having so many Steamboat athletes qualify is a testament to the program.

Tatum Grosdidier, Lauren Haerter, Caroline Gilchrist, Elena Dziura, Rylee McLouth and Greta Goldsmith qualified on the women’s side, while Jeremy Nolting, Daniel Ferucci, Charlie Welch, Colin Kagan, Laiken Roth, Nick DeMarco and Roman Elvidge qualified on the men’s side.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.