Our View editorials | SteamboatToday.com

Our View editorials

Our view: Vote ‘yes’ on 2B

September 18, 2018 — Since voters first approved the half-cent sales tax for public education in 1993, more than $61 million has gone to support public schools in Steamboat Springs and Routt County. That funding has helped elevate the Steamboat school system into one of Colorado’s best. In 2009,

Learn more »

Our view: Council needs to get specific

September 11, 2018 — Editor’s note: This story has been updated as the Steamboat Springs City Council has placed the funding offset discussion on it’s Oct. 9 and 16 meeting agendas.  The Steamboat Springs City Council is currently discussing a fire district inclusion election, which would be decided in

Learn more »

Our view: Howelsen agreement worth the wait

September 4, 2018 — After two years of negotiations, the city of Steamboat Springs and the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club have reached an agreement on how the two entities will work together to operate Howelsen Hill Ski Area. It took considerable time for this agreement to be ironed

Learn more »

Our view: City wise to pursue hikers-only trail

August 28, 2018 — Spring Creek Trail is one of Steamboat Springs' most popular trails. It's an easy hike close to downtown that is accessible to visitors, a place where locals go to run and walk their dogs and a trail that provides mountain bikers with access to Buffalo

Learn more »

Our view: Silver lining

August 21, 2018 — Employees of Smartwool as well as the entire Steamboat Springs community are still reeling from the announcement last week that VF Corp. would be moving Smartwool's headquarters to Denver within a year. The news came only days after Molly Cuffe, Smartwool's director of global communications,

Learn more »

Our view: Steamboat stands for its public land

August 14, 2018 — The Steamboat Institute brought U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ryan Zinke to town for the organization's annual Freedom Conference on Friday, and citizens in the Steamboat Springs and Routt County area took advantage of his visit to gather in support of public lands. The Stand

Learn more »

Our View: Time to pitch in

July 31, 2018 — Steamboat Springs City Council began discussions last week that could pave the way toward placing a property tax issue on the November ballot to fund the downtown improvement district, which was formed in 2007 but has never been funded after tax proposals failed in 2014

Learn more »

Our view: Lessen environmental impact of events

July 24, 2018 — If you attended the barbecue after the Tour de Steamboat on Saturday, you couldn't miss the bright green "Zero Waste" tent where volunteers from the Yampa Valley Sustainability Council were on hand to instruct people how to properly dispose of their trash. The tent, located

Learn more »

Our view: Everyday heroes

July 17, 2018 — Anyone who happened to be listening to scanner traffic on July 10 would have heard police officers, firefighters and first responders from almost every agency in Routt County called out to respond to a series of emergency events that unfolded over the course of an

Learn more »

Our view: The Steamboat brand

July 12, 2018 — Smartwool announced new leadership at the end of last month with Jen McClaren stepping into the role of president after former company president Travis Campbell was promoted to vice president and general manager of The North Face, Americas. It was exciting to learn that Smartwool

Learn more »

Our view: Celebrate local community this 4th of July

July 3, 2018 — The Fourth of July is a day set aside to celebrate freedom and independence. And as we prepare to gather with family and friends in honor of our nation's birthday, we think it's important to reflect on what unites us rather than what divides us

Learn more »

Our view: Yampa Street has been a long time coming

June 26, 2018 — Depending upon your perspective, the completion of traffic and pedestrian improvements on Yampa Street have either been four — or 34 — years in the making. Now, that it’s done, we think the re-birth of Yampa Street is worth celebrating throughout Independence Day week. For decades,

Learn more »

Our view: Checked your spark arrestor lately?

June 19, 2018 — The light rain that fell across Routt County June 17 and 18 took some of the edge off the wildfire danger here. But it wasn't significant enough to warrant complacency so soon after an event like the Buffalo Mountain Fire that threatened homes in Silverthorne last week.

Learn more »

Our view: Steamboat still digs dogs

June 12, 2018 — Anyone who walks along the Yampa River Core Trail or hikes Steamboat Springs area trails, like Spring Creek or Blackmere Drive, may have noticed yellow sign boards that display reminders about dog etiquette. "Be a good neighbor; pick up after your dog," the sign reads

Learn more »

Our view: Get ‘er done Steamboat council

June 5, 2018 — The Steamboat Springs City Council is currently in the process of hammering out an annexation agreement with Brynn Grey, the development company that is proposing to build 400 homes in the city over a 20-year period on a 150-acre tract of land on the city’s

Learn more »

Our view: Making the best of a busy summer

June 2, 2018 — We hope that when you picked up your copy of the Steamboat Pilot & Today this morning you looked through our summer preview of events and began mapping out another great summer in the Yampa Valley. We suggest you may want to star the events you

Learn more »

Our view: New chief, new culture

May 29, 2018 — When Cory Christensen was named police chief of the Steamboat Springs Police Department in November 2015, he was tasked with changing the culture of an agency that had been the focus of an outside investigation, which found evidence the city's former top cops presided over

Learn more »

Our View: Hayden is on the rise

May 26, 2018 — The news this month that the Hayden School District was awarded a $38.8 million Colorado Department of Education "Best Grant" to help it build a new 21-century, $61 million school campus has the potential to reshape growth trends in the Yampa Valley. We think Hayden school board

Learn more »

Our view: Routt County needs more foster families

May 23, 2018 — Living in a mountain resort community like Steamboat Springs, we can sometimes fall into the trap of thinking life here is all powder days and bike rides up Emerald Mountain, when in reality, our community suffers from many of the same ills that affect towns

Learn more »

Our view: Vacationers aren’t the only ones who need better transportation

May 19, 2018 — We believe that, just as subsidizing airline flights for the destination vacationers that make our resort economy hum is a critical need, we, as a community, should do more to boost funding for the Steamboat Springs Transit system. Let’s not forget, it's the SST buses that

Learn more »