Op-Ed | SteamboatToday.com

Op-Ed

Kristin Bantle: A new paradigm of transparency and accountability

October 17, 2018 — My core values are rooted in my community, expressed through my collaboration, heard when I communicate and demonstrated by my compassion. I have proven that I will stand up for this community, and I will continue to do so as sheriff. I possess the collaboration

Learn more »

Garrett Wiggins: School and officer safety, combating opioid abuse among priorities

October 17, 2018 — One of my first vivid memories as a young child is that of a tall, fit, dark-haired man sporting a flat-top haircut, sharply-dressed in a Florida State Trooper uniform. He was getting into a shiny, fast car with cool graphics, lights and a siren. The

Learn more »

Cari Hermacinski: Concrete changes to benefit all citizens

October 16, 2018 — This November, I am asking the citizens of Routt County to re-elect me as a county commissioner. As a fifth-generation native of the Yampa Valley, an attorney and a businesswoman in the telecommunications industry, I have a longterm commitment to our county and an experienced

Learn more »

Beth Melton: An innovative leader for the future

October 16, 2018 — The oldest of five kids from a working class family, I grew up on a farm in rural Washington. From a young age, I learned the value of a hard day’s work, a strict budget and a strong community. These things are as important to

Learn more »

Nicki Mills: Elect a mom with true life experience, compassion and common sense

October 15, 2018 — My name is Nicki Mills and I want to be your next Representative for House District 26. We are blessed to live in one of the most beautiful places in America. With my life experiences, I believe that I truly represent the people of our

Learn more »

Dylan Roberts: A track record of results for Eagle and Routt counties

October 15, 2018 — House District 26, Eagle County and Routt County, has been my home for almost my entire life. I grew up in Steamboat and now am lucky to live in Eagle County. It has been an honor to serve as the state representative for this district,

Learn more »

Phil Weiser: I’m running to be the lawyer for all the people of Colorado

October 14, 2018 — In 2018, it is critical to elect an Attorney General who is committed to defending your rights and protecting our Colorado way life. I am running for Attorney General because I believe in the promise and potential of this office to fight for all Coloradans,

Learn more »

Scott Tipton: Recreation economy vital to many Colorado communities

October 14, 2018 — Our country, our state and the 3rd Congressional District are seeing economic gains obtained due to pro-growth policies including tax reform, and I'm proud my votes have put more money into the pockets of hardworking Americans. Many Americans are small-business owners, and I used to

Learn more »

Gaylon Kent: We deserve better than an America perpetually at war

October 14, 2018 — We deserve better. We deserve better than the partisan, fractured and bickering government we have now, and we deserve better than an America that is perpetually at war and mindlessly in debt. Our choice this election is to either continue to tolerate the status quo

Learn more »

Diane Mitsch Bush: Western Slope health care costs out of control

October 14, 2018 — For over 20 years, I have been honored to be your public servant. As a Routt County planning commissioner for 10 years, then as your elected two-term county commissioner, I worked hard and effectively to build a balance between development, private-property rights, and the environmental

Learn more »

George Brauchler: Criminal drug activity overwhelming rural law enforcement

October 13, 2018 — I grew up seeing my mom fight for those who were being persecuted or unjustly treated. I saw firsthand how rewarding public service and fighting for things in which you believe were not only individually rewarding but indispensable to America. Coming from a middle-class family

Learn more »

OPINION: A half cent for our kids. our community, our schools — vote ‘yes’ on 2B!

October 8, 2018 — Steamboat Springs, for 25 years you have shown your commitment to directly invest in public education through a half-cent sales tax. Referendum 2B extends this investment in our local public schools. Voters first approved this commitment to the students of Steamboat Springs in 1993 and

Learn more »

Opinion: Vote the outdoors in November

October 5, 2018 — As Steamboat locals, we are fortunate to live in a state that offers stunning landscapes and unparalleled outdoor recreation opportunities. Part of what makes Colorado so beautiful is our collective, unabashed commitment to the outdoors. With Election Day a month away, we need to commit

Learn more »

Jennifer Schubert-Akin: Impeaching Trump could create dangerous precedent

October 1, 2018 — Since the day President Trump was elected, longtime Democrats, including Reps. Maxine Waters, D-California, and Al Green, D-Texas, have been beating the impeachment drum. But impeachment is more than just a buzzword. It has a specific constitutional meaning. Article II Section 4 of the U.S.

Learn more »

Quirk in state constitution could harm college’s affordability

August 13, 2018 — Colorado Mountain College is not only one of the most affordable colleges in the nation, it is also the only college in our 12,000-square-mile service region that trains firefighters, law enforcement officers, nurses and teachers. Consequently, if CMC cannot offer these programs, they will not

Learn more »

Dylan Roberts: Show Zinke Colorado supports public lands

August 7, 2018 — U.S. Secretary of Interior Ryan Zinke is in Steamboat Springs this week to address an exclusive assembly of far-right conservatives and presumably to push the Trump administration's anti-public lands agenda and extreme environmental policies. As an avid outdoorsman and advocate for Colorado's open spaces and

Learn more »

Jennifer Schubert-Akin: Film festival celebrates American culture

August 6, 2018 — Summer movie season is in full swing. Yet, for those who have had their fill of endless superhero sequels and animated dramedies, there is an alternative — The Steamboat Institute Film Festival in Steamboat Springs taking place Thursday, Aug. 9 to Saturday, Aug. 11. There are not

Learn more »

Steven Hofman: When it comes to handling government data the media and Trump have a few things in common

June 26, 2018 — STEAMBOAT SPRINGS — As a former assistant secretary of labor who was responsible for putting out many press releases on embargoed economic statistics, I won't defend President Trump’s early tweet reference to last month's employment numbers. With the June numbers release just days away, I

Learn more »

Scott Tipton: We must utilize Western Colorado’s vast natural resources

June 13, 2018 — Western Colorado is home to vast natural resources that can and will power the economy through the 21st century and beyond if responsibly developed. It is the role of the federal government to monitor and manage the development of natural resources, which is why I

Learn more »

Opinion: Newcomers need to know benefits of Colorado’s Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights

June 6, 2018 — The latest Census Bureau data released earlier this year shows that Colorado's population has grown by nearly two-thirds since 1992, one of the fastest increases in the country.  If you are part of the more than two million new residents who have arrived over this time, there

Learn more »