Wrestlers end 20-year drought | SteamboatToday.com

Wrestlers end 20-year drought

Melinda Mawdsley

Despite the absence of three wrestlers, the Steamboat Springs Middle School team captured second place at Saturday’s tournament hosted by Soroco.

The second-place finish was the first time Steamboat’s middle school team has won a trophy in wrestling since 1984.

The 20-year drought is something coaches and wrestlers are pleased to see end.

Meeker won the Soroco tournament, while Hayden finished third.

Captains Angel Ruelas (125 pounds) and Ben Deline (120 pounds) each picked up a tournament title for the Sailors. Heavyweight Jay Hanley and Brent Turman (145 pounds) each took second.

Beau Becker (100 pounds) and Dave Yokubonis (95 pounds) took third in two highly competitive weight divisions. Tyler Jones (85 pounds) and first-time wrestler Michael Stuart (135 pounds) took fourth to round out Steamboat’s medal winners.

Recommended Stories For You

Holly Mayer, wrestling for the first time in her life, won by decision, 7-6, in her second match of the tournament.

Mike McCollough (135 pounds), Clint Galorath (105 pounds) and David Jones (110) also wrestled hard for Steamboat in Soroco.

Because of injury or illness, the Sailors wrestled without captain Nigel Hammond (125 pounds), Brent Becker (90 pounds) and Mike Jones (145 pounds).

Steamboat’s effort to rebuild the wrestling program at the younger levels continues March 16 in Hayden. The Sailors wrap up the middle school wrestling season at Granby on March 20.

— To reach Melinda Mawdsley call 871-4208 or e-mail mmawdsley@steamboatpilot.com