Tread of Pioneers Museum seeks nominees for 2013 Leckenby, Larson awards |

Tread of Pioneers Museum seeks nominees for 2013 Leckenby, Larson awards

Every year, the Leckenby and Larson Awards Committee associated with the Tread of Pioneers Museum looks for nominees for the Leckenby Pioneer Award and the Stanley L. Larson Award. The two awards honor people who have enriched the quality of life in Routt County.

The nominees for the Leckenby Pioneer Award should:

■ Have lived a total of 30 years in the county. The nominee does not have to be living here now.

■ Be involved with the community, responsive to community needs and serve as a representative of the history of the community.

■ Demonstrate personal integrity.

■ Be inspirational to youths.

The qualifications for the Stanley L. Larson Award are:

■ The nominee must have lived in Routt and must be deceased.

■ The nominee must have made a major contribution to Routt County.

Nominations are due by 4 p.m. Sept. 20. A short summary of the nominee would be helpful. Email nominations to and include your contact information. Previous nominations can be resubmitted. Call 970-879-2214 with questions.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.