Steamboat briefs: Wild West Air Fest returns Saturday; event shuttle available |

Steamboat briefs: Wild West Air Fest returns Saturday; event shuttle available

There will be no parking at the Wild West Air Fest, which will be held Saturday, Sept. 2 at Bob Adams Airport in Steamboat Springs. Parking will be available at the Stockbridge Transit Center and the Routt County Justice Center with city buses running to and from the event throughout the day. Dogs will not be permitted on the buses or at the event. Astronaut Steve Swanson will be at the Air Fest signing autographs and greeting the public from 10 a.m to noon. Visit for more information.

Longtime Steamboat Springs auto technician to retire

Four Star Auto Repair is hosting a retirement reception for longtime Steamboat Springs auto technician Dave Dworakowski from 5:30 to 7 p.m. today at the business, 2034 Snow Bowl Plaza.
Dworakowski moved to Steamboat Springs in 1978 to work for the Ford dealership and then became a field mechanic for TIC. In 1988, Dworakowski joined the team at Four Star Auto and has worked there ever since. Wednesday’s event is open to the community; barbecue and beverages will be served.

Applications accepted to honor those who serve county

Nominations are now being accepted for the Tread of Pioneers Musueum’s Leckenby and Larson Awards, which annually honor people who have enriched the quality of life in Routt County.
Nominees of the Leckenby Pioneer Award should fit the following qualifications.
■ Have lived a total of 30 years in the county. The nominee does not have to be living here now.
■ Be involved with the community, responsive to community needs (past and present) and serve as a representative of the history of the community.
■ Demonstrate personal integrity.
■ Be inspirational to youth.
Past recipients of the Leckenby Award include: Ferry Carpenter, Walt Webber, Lewis Phillips, Ayliffe and Henry Zehner, Dorothy Wither, John “Doc” Utterback, Margaret Rossi, Val Fitzpatrick, Bobby Robinson Sr., Evelyn and Quentin Semotan, Gordy Wren, Eldon Brummett, Effie Baily, Eleanor Bliss, Vernon Summer, Marvin Elkins, Pat Holderness, Lowell Whiteman, Dee Richards, Don Lufkin, Pete Wither, Elaine Gay, Bill Bowes, Natalie Stanko, Linda Long, Frances Wither, Sam Haslem, Dr. Bill Baldwin, Mary Jean Perry, Bud and Jane Romberg, Donna Hellyer, Judy Green, Peter “Mike” Yurich, Bill McKelvie, Bill Gay, Jim Stanko and Jerry Green.
The follow are qualifications for the Stanley L. Larson Award.
■ The nominee must have lived in Routt County and must now be deceased.
■ The nominee must have made a major contribution to Routt County.
Past recipients of the Larson Award are: Claude Luekens, James H. Crawford, Charles H. Leckenby, Dr. F.E. Willett, James Norvell, Charles Neiman, Minnie Hertzog, Carl Howelsen, Everett Bristol, Lulita Crawford Pritchett, Emma Willcockson, Bob Gay, Winnie Carrol, Charlotte Perry, Portia Mansfield, Joseph “Shorty” Hamidy, Thomas I. Lindley, William S. “Bill” Green, Gates Gooding, Dr. John V. Solandt, George Cook, Delano Scott, Sumner Hockett, Geraldine Elkins, Clarence Light, Delmar Vance Coyner, Robert “Bob” Moss, Chuck Fulton, John Fetcher, Bill Meek, Don Brookshire, Benita Bristol, Jan Vail, Jan Leslie and Lewis Kemry.
Nominations should be emailed to by Sept. 14.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User