South Routt School Board uses award money to grow educational endowment |

South Routt School Board uses award money to grow educational endowment

Scott Franz

Members of the South Routt School Board were recognized in Colorado Springs as the top school board in the state by the Colorado Association of School Boards.

— Dec. 20 was a good day for the South Routt School District.

On that day, the district’s School Board celebrated being named the top board in the state by the Colorado Association of School Boards.

Then, the board donated its $2,500 award to its district’s growing endowment fund to benefit students

"It was a big night," parent Russ Garrity said about the board’s donation to the endowment fund he helped start last year.

The school board’s donation was matched by a South Routt community member who wishes to remain anonymous.

Garrity said the South Routt Education Endowment Fund now has raised more than $50,000 for the district, with most of the proceeds coming from private donors, including a recent grant of $25,000 from the Craig-Scheckman Family Foundation that will be doled out during the next two years.

Recommended Stories For You

"It’s exciting because I think the word is getting out," Garrity said. "Two years ago, no one knew what the endowment was. We were nothing. Today, I think we are pretty visible."

The School Board’s donation to the endowment was made possible by its recognition as All State School Board of the Year.

South Routt edged out about 17 other boards across Colorado that had been nominated for the honor.

Ann Fattor, a former Association of School Boards president and one of the judges who helped decide to tap South Routt for the honor, told the Steamboat Today last month that the board quickly rose to the top of the applicant pool.

"Basically, what we were looking for is exemplary leadership, not only within the school district but also within the community. That’s what we saw in South Routt," Fattor said.

During the Association of School Boards convention that started late last month, the South Routt School Board was recognized in front of a large crowd of educators in Colorado Springs.

"It was really an honor just standing with them," Superintendent Scott Mader said about the experience at the convention. "It was an outstanding few days for our School Board."

The South Routt School Board is made up by President Tim Corrigan, Vice President Joel Harris, Treasurer John McCollum, Secretary Gena Hange and members Jules Palyo, Jamie Hoff and Brett Mason

“We have a community in South Routt that recognizes the importance of providing a great education for our kids. Time and time again, they have voted to provide funding for first-class facilities and for the additional resources we need for our students," Corrigan wrote last week in an email reflecting on the awards ceremony. Our School Board has for many years worked together as a team. Board members have consistently placed the well-being and success of our students at the front of our agenda."

To reach Scott Franz, call 970-871-4210 or email