School district master plan stakeholder committees begin meeting next week | SteamboatToday.com

School district master plan stakeholder committees begin meeting next week

Teresa Ristow

— Stakeholder meetings for four committees tasked with efforts related to a new Steamboat Springs School District master plan will begin meeting as early as next week.

The four committees, or action groups, will meet periodically over the next six months and will investigate and make recommendations to district administration and the school board regarding the need to update district facilities.

During a community meeting last week, Jeff Chamberlin, principal and partner with Windsor-based RLH Engineering, said it would take significant community involvement to bring changes to district facilities.

“We’re looking for as much involvement and engagement as we can get,” Chamberlin said. “We need to go through this process to understand what the district’s needs are in the short term and long term. These are exciting opportunities.”

Details of each of the stakeholder meetings and how to get involved were released by the district Friday and are posted on the district’s website at http://www.sssd.k12.co.us. There is also a link to the Power Point presentation from last week’s community meeting.

The Educational Sustainability Committee, or ESC, will hold its first meeting from 6 to 7 p.m. Feb. 12 at a location to be determined. This committee will assess district buildings for educational suitability, including consideration of size, safety, infrastructure and code compliance. The ESC will work with an architectural and engineering team to develop a plan for how district facilities can improve. To join this committee, contact district Director of Teaching and Learning Marty Lamansky at mlamansky@ssk12.org.

The Facilities Assessment Committee, or FAC, also will assess facilities, but it will focus on building conditions, life cycle replacement costs and budgeting for capital replacement or renewal. The first meeting will be from 5 to 6 p.m. Feb. 12 at a location to be determined. To join this committee, contact co-chair Pascal Ginesta, district director of maintenance, operations and transportation, at pginesta@ssk12.org.

The Finance Committee will assess the financial feasibility of capital construction and identify funding sources and appropriate uses for funding. To join this committee, contact Director of Finance Dale Mellor at dmellor@ssk12.org.

The Demographic Committee will consider the district’s fall demographic study and district and school boundaries to make recommendations about the district’s future space needs. To join the committee, contact Superintendent Brad Meeks at bmeeks@ssk12.org or Administrative Assistant Deb Ginesta at dginesta@ssk12.org.

To reach Teresa Ristow, call 970-871-4206, email tristow@SteamboatToday.com or follow her on Twitter @TeresaRistow


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.