Saturday band lineup for WinterWonderGrass Festival |

Saturday band lineup for WinterWonderGrass Festival

Trampled by Turtles (Courtesy photo)

Trampled by Turtles
8:25 to 10 p.m. on the Main Stage

Trampled by Turtles got together in 2003 in Duluth, Minnesota. Band members include: Dave Simonett, guitar, lead vocals; Tim Saxhaug, bass, harmony vocals; Dave Carroll, banjo, harmony vocals; Erik Berry, mandolin; and Ryan Young, fiddle, harmony vocals. Their seventh and most recent studio album is “Wild Animals” (2014).

The Lil Smokies (Photo by Katie Berning)

The Lil Smokies
4:20 to 5:35 p.m. on the Main Stage

The Lil Smokies formed in Missoula, Montana, in 2009. The band features: Scott Parker, bass; Jake Simpson, fiddle; Matt Rieger, guitar; Matt Cornette, banjo; and Andy Dunnigan, dobro. The group’s studio albums are “The Lil Smokies” (2013) and “Changing Shades” (2017).

The California Honeydrops (Courtesy photo)

The California Honeydrops
6:15 to 7:45 p.m. on the Main Stage

The California Honeydrops formed in Oakland, California, and have been playing together for a decade. Their group includes: Lech Wierzynski, lead vocals, trumpet, guitar; Ben Malament, drums, washboard, percussion; Johnny Bones, tenor saxophone, clarinet; Lorenzo Loera, keys, melodica; and Beau Bradbury, bass, percussion. They’ve released seven albums together, the most recent being a double album called “Call It Home: Vol. 1 & 2” (2018).

River Whyless
2:40 to 3:40 p.m. on the Main Stage 

River Whyless is based out of Asheville, North Carolina, and has been playing together for a decade. Its members include: Ryan O’Keefe, guitar, vocals; Halli Anderson, violin, vocals; Alex McWalters, drums; and Daniel Shearin, bass, harmonium, vocals. The group’s albums include “River Whyless” (2015), “A Stone, A Leaf, An Unfound Door” (2012), “We All The Light” (2016) and “Kindness, A Rebel” (2018).

Shook Twins
5:35 to 6:15 p.m. and 7:45 to 8:25 p.m. in the Jamboree Tent

The Shook Twins are based in Portland, Oregon, and have been playing together since 2004. The group features: Katelyn Shook, guitar, ukulele, Glockenspiel, mandolin, vocals; Laurie Shook, banjo, percussion, guitar, vocals, beatboxing, bass, looping, ocarina; Niko Daoussis, mandolin, electric guitar, electric drums, bass, vocals; Josh Simon, bass, vocals; and Barra Brown, drums, electronic drum pad, vocals. The Shook Twins have released five albums, the most recent being “Some Good Lives” (2019).

2 to 2:40 p.m. and 3:40 to 4:20 p.m. in the Jamboree Tent

Upstate has been playing together since 2011. Their albums include “A Remedy (2015) and “Healing” (2019). The group is based in the Hudson Valley of New York and features: Melanie Glenn, vox, guitar; Mary Kenney, vox, guitar; Allison Olender, vox, guitar; Harry D’Agostino, bass; Ryan Chappell, mandolin; and Dean Mahoney, cajon.

Wood Belly
2 to 2:40 p.m. and 3:40 to 4:20 p.m. in the Pickin Perch Tent

Denver-based Wood Belly formed in 2015. The band features: Craig Patterson, guitar, vocals; Chris Ryan Weist, mandolin, vocals; Chris Zink, dobro, vocals; Aaron McCloskey, banjo, vocals; and Taylor Shuck. bass, vocals. Wood Belly released “Solid Ground” (2018) and is currently working on their sophomore album.

Town Mountain
5:35 to 6:15 p.m. and 7:45 to 8:25 p.m. in the Jamboree Tent

Town Mountain hails from Asheville, North Carolina, and features: Phil Barker, mandolin, vocals; Robert Greer, vocals, guitar; Jesse Langlais, banjo, vocals; Bobby Britt, fiddle; and Zach Smith, bass. Their sixth studio album and most recent release is “New Freedom Blues” (2018).

2 to 2:40 p.m. and 3:40 to 4:20 p.m. in The Soapbox

WinterWonderWomen is a new collaboration led by Bridget Law, fiddle, Megan Letts, keys, and Tiffany Christopher, guitar, with other women in the festival rotating into the lineup.

Chain Station
5:35 to 6:15 p.m. and 7:45 to 8:25 p.m. in The Soapbox

Chain Station began playing together in 2006 and is based in Denver. Its members include: Alex Thoele, guitar; Chris Elliot, banjo; Jarett Mason, mandolin; and Jon Pickett, bass. The group’s fourth, upcoming album is “Backroads,” set for release in the spring.

To reach Julia Ben-Asher, call 970-871-4229 or email or follow her on Twitter @JuliaBenAsher.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.