Sailors named team of the year

Melinda Mawdsley

A season of firsts continues for the Steamboat Springs High School girls tennis team.

The 2005 Sailors were the first team in the program’s history to win a regional tournament, qualifying all 11 girls for the state tennis tournament, which also was a first.

Steamboat went on to place fourth. Breanne Murray placed second at No. 2 singles, and Lisa Floyd placed fourth at No. 3 singles. It was the first time individual players have medaled. It also was the first time the team placed in the top four overall.

Next month, the Colorado tennis community will honor the 2005 girls team with the Willa Wolcott Condon Award, given annually to the Colorado girls high school team of the year.

It is the first time Steamboat has received the award.

“It was pretty neat,” Sailors coach John Aragon said. “At the state tournament, they also got the sportsmanship award, which was the first time ever. They were fun to watch play. When they received that award, they were all dressed up in red and white.”

Aragon, who coached the team with Don Toy, said the team’s academic and athletic achievements, coupled with their good sportsmanship, make the girls deserving recipients.

“I think that played a big part — the enthusiasm they carried and the attitude they had,” he said.

The Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame Gala is Feb. 10 at the Marriott Denver Tech Center. It is a formal banquet, but that’s all Aragon knows because the Sailors never have received a team award.

“They get an award, probably a plaque that will probably go to the high school,” he said. “I would assume there would be 150 to 200 people there.”

Members of the 2005 team were: Kelli Parnell (No. 1 singles); Murray, Floyd, Stacy Cavanagh and Molly Weiss (No. 1 doubles); Adele Dombrowski and Kristin Toy (No. 2 doubles); Rebecca Timmerman and Brittany DeGroff (No. 3 doubles); and Kerry Enochs and Anya Salz–geber (No. 4 doubles). Bailey Moore was an alternate.

Parnell, Cavanagh and De—-Groff graduated last year. The attending members also will accept the award on Dombrow–ski’s behalf. Dombrowski, who would have been a senior on this year’s team, passed away in late September.

“She was a big part of the team,” Aragon said. “It was tough on the girls.”

Cheyenne Mountain was selected as the boys high school team of the year.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.