Pioneers looking for community pillars |

Pioneers looking for community pillars

Zach Fridell

— Tread of Pioneers Museum is gearing up for the annual Leckenby and Larson awards, an annual recognition of longtime Routt County residents who have had a great impact on the community.

An awards committee is accepting nominations for the awards through Oct. 28.

The Leckenby and Larson awards “honor persons who have enriched the quality of life in Routt County. These citizens have served our public institutions, preserved our local history, or contributed significantly to the county’s heritage,” wrote Candice Lombardo, executive director of the museum.

Since 1980, the Leckenby Pioneer Award has been given to a prominent living Routt County figure, while the Stanley L. Larson Award has been given posthumously since 1982 to a person who has affected the county.

Nominees for the Leckenby award should have lived a total of 30 years in the county, be involved with the community, be responsive to community needs (past and present), serve as a representative of the history of the community, demonstrate personal integrity and be inspirational to youth. The nominee does not need to currently live in Routt County.

Last year’s Leckenby winner was Bill Baldwin, a former member of the Steamboat Springs School Board and the boards of directors for Colorado Mountain College and the Yampa Valley Land Trust.

Recommended Stories For You

Other recent winners include Sam Haslem, Frances Wither, Linda Long and Natalie Stanko.

Nominees for the Larson award must have lived in Routt County, made a great contribution to the county and must now be deceased.

Delmar Coyner, who died in May 2007, was last year’s winner. Coyner was a 22-year member of the Steamboat Springs Fire Department and the Yampa Valley Baptist Church in Craig. He worked as a contractor, ran his own auto mechanic business and worked maintenance for the Steamboat Springs School District.

Past recipients include Clarence Light, Geraldine Elkins, Sumner Hockett and Delano Scott.

Award winners have their names added to a permanent plaque in the museum and are awarded a wooden-backed plaque to take home.

Lombardo said there were 15 total nominations last year. Previous nominees who were not selected will be included in the running for awards this year, she said.

To submit applications, mail them to Tread of Pioneers Museum at P.O. Box 772372, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477; or e-mail them to

Applications are due by 4 p.m. Oct. 28.

– To reach Zach Fridell, call 871-4208 or e-mail

To nominate

To submit a nominee for the Leckenby and Larson awards, send a short summary of the nominee to:

Candice Lombardo, Executive Director

Tread of Pioneers Museum

P.O. Box 772372

Steamboat Springs, CO 80477

Nominations also can be e-mailed to topmuseum@springs…. For more information, call 879-2214. Nominations are due by 4 p.m. Oct. 28.