Local skiers honored at annual awards night | SteamboatToday.com

Local skiers honored at annual awards night

— Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club member David Lamb’s list of accomplishments this year has made him one of the country’s top up-and-coming alpine ski racers.

But on Tuesday night, Lamb won something he may treasure more than any first-place finish on a race course. He was named the recipient of the Ned Grant Alpine Award.

“It’s the first time I’ve won any kind of award from the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club,” Lamb said. “It feels pretty good.”

After a year of hard work, that feeling was shared by many of the top members of the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club who were honored by the club at the Steamboat Springs High School auditorium Tuesday night.

“This is a chance to look at how we did as a club and a chance to start looking forward to next year,” Winter Sports Club Director Rick DeVos said.

While many of the different disciplines have already held individual awards presentations, this is the night that the club’s highest honors are handed out. The ceremony includes members for every discipline offered at the club.

During the ceremony, Emiko Torito won the Charles Abernathy “True Grit ” Memorial. The Mary C. McGill Memorial Ski Meister award went to Shaq Torella. Alpine racer Lamb, nordic skier Katie Darst and jumper Alex Glueck all earned Ned Grant trophies.

Skeeter Werner was honored with the Ritter Memorial Courage Cup and the Skeeter Award went to alpine racer Lisa Perricone.

The Stahly Memorial award went to freestyle skier Mike Friedberg and jumper Colin Kirkpatrick earned the Will Madsen Memorial award.

The cross county and snowboarding awards for excellence, as well as the winner of the Hobart Memorial freestyle award, were also announced.

Mark Iverson took home the nordic honor, David Edelman earned the snowboarding award and Logan Belz pocketed the Hobart. Each was the top performer in his discipline, excelling not only on the ski slopes, but also in the classroom.

The club also announced that Kathy Crawford won the Honorary Sustaining Member award. That honor is bestowed annually to the volunteer who had demonstrated an unselfish commitment to the Winter Sports Club. The Coach of the Year honor went to Ben Webster who led a talented group of J-3 skiers to several top finishes this season.

–To reach John F. Russell call 871-4209 or e-mail jrussell@amigo.net

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more