LIVE UPDATES: 2020 primary election in Routt County |

LIVE UPDATES: 2020 primary election in Routt County

Editor’s note: This story will be updated with the latest election news and results.

10:40 p.m.: Over 8,000 Routt County voters cast ballots in the 2020 primary election with many of the local results mirroring statewide outcomes.

10:30 p.m.: Incumbent Republican State Sen. Bob Rankin of Carbondale won the GOP nomination for the Colorado Senate District 8 seat over challenger Debra Irvine of Breckenridge. He will face off against Democratic challenger Karl Hanlon in November. In Routt County, Rankin earned 1,494 votes to Irvine’s 743.

10 p.m.: In her second effort to win Colorado’s 3rd Congressional District seat, Diane Mitsch Bush of Steamboat Springs beat political newcomer James Iacino in Tuesday’s Democratic primary. As of 9:15 p.m., Mitsch Bush held 61% (59,022) of the 96,730 votes counted, according to the Secretary of State’s results. She handily won Routt County, with 4,662 votes to Iacino’s 838 votes.

9:40 p.m.: Lauren Boebert has defeated incumbent Scott Tipton in the GOP primary for Colorado’s 3rd Congressional District. In Routt County, Tipton earned 1,441 votes to Boebert’s 888.

9:30 p.m.: Karl Hanlon easily defeated opponent Arn Menconi to win the Democratic primary for Senate District 8 with 57% of the vote as of 9 p.m. Tuesday. In Routt County, Hanlon earned 2,537 votes to Menconi’s 2,072.

9:10 p.m.: Incumbent Republican State Sen. Bob Rankin of Carbondale grabbed the early lead Tuesday night over Senate District 8 primary challenger Debra Irvine of Breckenridge. With 17,050 votes counted in the seven-county district as of 9 p.m., Rankin holds a 64% to 36% advantage over Irvine.

9 p.m.: With seven of 29 counties reporting, Diane Mitsch Bush has a sizable lead over James Iacino for the Democratic nomination to the 3rd Congressional District seat. With 95,464 ballots counted, Bush has a 60% advantage, collecting 58,210 votes to her challenger’s 37,254.

8 p.m.: Former Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper to face off against Cory Gardner for U.S. Senate seat in November.

7:15 p.m.: The first round of results from the Routt County Clerk and Recorder’s Office have been released. In the race for U.S. Senator on the Democratic ballot, John Hickenlooper is leading Andrew Romanoff by 3,705 votes to 1,373. Steamboat Springs’ Diane Mitsch Bush has collected 4,224 votes to James Iacino’s 769 for the 3rd Congressional District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. On the Republican side, incumbent Scott Tipton is leading challenger Lauren Boebert by 1,363 votes to 795. Democratic State Senate District 8 hopefuls Karl Hanlon and Arn Menconi have garnered 2,332 and 1,853 votes respectfully, and on the Republican side of the race, Bob Rankin has collected 1,397 votes to Debra Irvine’s 682. Routt commissioners races are uncontested in the primary election.

6:15 p.m.: As of 4 p.m. Tuesday, the Colorado Secretary of State’s Office was reporting 3,983,233 ballots had been cast in the state’s primary election. Of those voting, 1,188,430 were Democrats, 1,094,555 were Republicans, 45,038 were Libertarians and 1,643,911 were unaffiliated voters.

6 p.m. There’s only one hour left before the polls close in Colorado’s 2020 Primary Election. Routt County Clerk Kim Bonner said she is expecting around 8,000 county residents to cast their ballots in the primary. She said her office will release the first round of results shortly after 7 p.m.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.