Jason Lacy re-elected to Steamboat Springs City Council | SteamboatToday.com

Jason Lacy re-elected to Steamboat Springs City Council

Steamboat Springs City Council incumbent Jason Lacy and current council member Kathi Meyer react to the first set of preliminary results at the Routt County Courthouse on Tuesday, Nov. 5. Lacey won his bid for another two-year stint on council.
Shelby Reardon

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS — Current Steamboat Springs City Council President Jason Lacy will remain on the council.

Lacy was elected to the two-year, at-large City Council seat, earning more votes than George Krawzoff, former city transportation director.

Lacy received 2,517 votes to Krawzoff’s 1,061.

On Tuesday night, there were 125 to 150 outstanding ballots county-wide that could still come in as voters correct signatures and other ballot issues.

Lacy thanked the community “for having faith and trust in me to do this, again.” He said he thought they’ve had a positive four years so far, and he looks forward to “having two more good years.”

“It’s always nice to see that kind of support, and I would just tip my hat to George,” Lacy said. “I think he ran a nice race, and he stuck to his issues, and I wish him the best.”

I thank everybody that did vote for me, and I appreciate everybody’s attention at the forums,” Krawzoff said. “I’d like to thank my wife and my donors, particularly my wife, who worked tirelessly on my behalf. I’m proud to have put in a showing and congratulations to the winners, and I hope the community does great things in the future.”

Three other seats on City Council were up for election but featured uncontested races. They’ll be occupied by incumbents Robin Crossan (2,793 votes) in District 1 and Heather Sloop (2,514 votes) in District 3 and newcomer Michael Buccino (2,705 votes) in District 2.

There will be a reception starting at 4:30 p.m. at next Tuesday’s City Council meeting honoring outgoing council member Scott Ford, who currently holds the at-large seat and was term limited after serving six years on the council. New council members will be sworn in afterward, and the council will elect the council president and president pro-tem.

The new council will immediately jump into a work session about bears, implementing the Steamboat Springs Downtown Plan and special events in the city at the same meeting.

To reach Eleanor Hasenbeck, call 970-871-4210, email ehasenbeck@SteamboatPilot.com or follow her on Twitter @elHasenbeck.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


Dylan Roberts announces run for Colorado State Senate

State Rep. Dylan Roberts, a native of Steamboat Springs, announced his candidacy for the Colorado State Senate in the mountain-area district Tuesday morning. The district, which includes Chaffee, Clear Creek, Eagle, Gilpin, Gunnison, Lake, Pitkin…

See more