Incumbents voted off Morrison water board |

Incumbents voted off Morrison water board

— Voters replaced all three Morrison Creek Metropolitan Water and Sanitation District incumbent board members with new faces in a special district election Tuesday.

Bill Maynard, Greg Hermann and Seann Smith will take the place of board veterans Scott Eggleston, Roger Kenworthy and Rich Saterdal.

“I was ready for a change,” voter Lynne Peters said.

She felt the board was lacking a connection to the public as well as an accountability for where her tax money was going.

“You don’t know about anything that people are doing,” Peters said of the board.

That made information difficult to attain and understand, she said.

Farley Kautz, a new landowner in Stagecoach, echoed Peters concerns about the water district. He said the hardest part about issues pertaining to the district is that they are difficult to fully understand.

“It’s challenging to piece it all together,” he said.

Kautz didn’t comment on who he voted for, but said he felt that some of the campaign literature was informative but a little aggressive.

“Some of it was inflammatory and it didn’t need to be,” he said.

Of the 285 people who voted, 180 voted for Maynard, 166 voted for Hermann, 150 voted for Smith, 87 voted for Kenworthy, 119 voted for Eggleston and 103 voted for Saterdal.

The new board members bring a variety of experience to their new positions.

Maynard has experience serving on the town board and the water commission in Fraser. Hermann is an engineer with experience in water infrastructure. Smith holds a master’s degree in urban planning.

Voter Mike Petix said he saw the need for some new faces on the board. He is building a house in the Horseback subdivision, complete with a vault sewage system and propane gas. Petix felt that the water district was too sympathetic to Routt County’s laws for consolidating lots to get the five acres necessary to install a septic system.

“I don’t see that as the right approach,” he said.

The current board had too many people who financial interest in Stagecoach far beyond just wanting to build a house, he said.

“Somewhere down the line they’ve got something to win, ” he said. “I have nothing to win except finishing my house.”

That’s why he supported putting new facing on the board.

“I like the guys that support the little guy,” he said.

The new board members will serve four-year terms.

Chris Zuschlag ran unopposed for a two-year term and received 179 votes.

The new board members will take their spots at the next water district board meeting on May 18.

— To reach Doug Crowl call 871-4206 or e-mail

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more