Growth group not selected |

Growth group not selected

Christine Metz

Despite the 17 applications the city and county have received for a growth management advisory committee, the entities have yet to select members.

City and county officials began advertising for the board in May and received applications by late June but have not decided how many people should make up the committee and what sectors of the community they should represent.

Councilwomen Susan Dellinger and Kathy Connell and county commissioners Doug Monger and Dan Ellison sat on the interview committee. They will meet Tuesday to discuss the selection process.

“We don’t even have the basics down,” City Clerk Julie Jordan said.

The growth advisory committee is an offshoot of the Steamboat Springs Community Area Plan, born out of the controversy growth-control issues stirred during the plan’s adoption.

The city and county agreed to form a committee but did not stipulate the makeup of that committee.

When the plan was adopted in May, it included a provision that the growth committee would be formed and would come back with a recommendation in six months.

When the council and commissioners looked at the list of applicants in June, they talked about soliciting different community members because the applicants did not represent a wide enough spectrum.

Of the 17 applications received by the city, seven noted in their applications that they were members of the Community Alliance of the Yampa Valley, a group that aims to ensure more organized and effective community input on growth and environmental issues.

In the past, the group has spoken out against issues including the city’s funding for Triple Crown, a proposal that would have fast-tracked major development permits through the city planning department and gravel pit developments.

Two other applicants are involved with the recently formed Peace and Justice Center, which joined the Community Alliance in advocating tougher restrictions for big-box retail stores.

Other applicants include those in the building, construction and real estate industries.

The applicants are: Lynn Abbott, Jodee Anderson, Will Bashan, Diane Bower, John Fielding, Greg Forney, Wayne Kakela, Kryill Kretzschmar, Steve Lewis, James Moylan, Ann Oliver, Stuart Orzach, Sandra Sherrod Pflieger, Christi Ruppe, John Spezia, Marcus Williams and Robert Wilmoth.

— To reach Christine Metz call 871-4229

or e-mail

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User