Education briefs for April 22 |

Education briefs for April 22

Soroco Middle School 3rd Quarter Honor Roll

8th grade (all A’s) – Caitlyn Berry, Charell Ondrejka, Ariel Rollett, Ceanna Rossi, Michael Rossi, Alexandra Smith

7th grade (all A’s) – Lauryn Bruggink, Kayla Harves

8th grade honor roll – Felica Cardenas, Katie Davis, Bailey Forster, Charlie Halcomb, Jacob Hange, Lanette Laman, Pie Lombardi, Cassey Meyer, Wesley Peters, Ashleigh Poteet, Samantha Sales, Corey Snyder, Ben Strait

7th grade honor roll – Joseph Anderson, Michael Bostock, KC Buck, Kimberlyn Cole, Zane Elston, Ellicia Fuller, Madison George, Taylor Hammer, Lindsay Miles, Shelby Miles, Marcie Norris, Tristan Paylo, Brittany Shaffer-Poteet

CMC in new partnership

The need for multi-discipline training in both preservation principles and practical skills has led to a new Preservation Technology Partnership between the University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center, Colorado State University and Colorado Mountain College, which has a campus in Steamboat Springs. Using a nearly $200,000 start-up grant from the State Historical Fund, the partnership is developing a program that integrates preservation technology with architectural and construction management education.

Each of the three participating schools brings its own expertise to the table. CMC offers an associate’s degree in Preservation Studies, new last fall, which emphasizes crafts and trades such as carpentry, masonry and plastering. CMC students will build vocational skills as they study and restore historic buildings and landscapes. In addition to the traditional undergraduate and graduate students who will benefit, CMC’s program will invite high school students in Lake and Chaffee counties to take preservation foundation and handcrafting classes and then transfer into the associate’s degree program. Construction trades people, preservation professionals and homeowners needing skills in restoration also are invited to attend classes and workshops as part of the program.

Steamboat Springs Middle School Honor Roll

6th grade Erina Alkema, Aleigh Aurin, Logan Banning, Alexander Barounos, Hannah Bashan, Benjamin Berend, Benjamin Bradfield, Halle Bramer, Bryson Campbell, Samantha Cline, Katherine Cooper, Nora Corser, Dane Dixson, Alexander Elliott, Gabriele Erspamer, Andrew Farny, Sydney Finkbohner, Casey Fritz, Nicole Fry, Elisabeth Fulton, Avery Globe, Olivia Gorr, Rachel Grubbs, Kathrine Henderson, Lara Henry, Claire Higgins, Bradley Hoefer, Shea Jenkins, Karimbe Jimenez, David Kelley, Erika Kipfer, Abby Kissane, Stefan Kowynia, Colton Lewer, Alexandra Lujano, Pennell Lukens, Suzanne Lyon, Dori McNeill, Brooke Metzler, Kali Morris, Lucy Newman, Mikenzie Ochs, Samuel Ogden, Monica Patten, Ali Pougiales, Austin Rae, Christian Ramirez, Anna Robinson, Megan Rosa, Hannah Samlowski, Sam Samlowski, Pelle Seiler, Olin Sigstedt, Katherine Spencer, Hannah Swick, Kathryn Thielemann, Peyton Trask, Jason Tweedy, John Vande Velde, Calyx Ward, Alyssa Watts, Eric Wendt, Allison Williams, Ainslee Yeager

7th grade Martha Anderson, Alexis Baden, Jake Barker, Hannah Barkey, Sydney Bauknecht, Jennifer Bean, Connor Bernard, Daniel Bye, Julia Cooper, Robert Davis, Alexander Diehl, Molly Dierdorff, Kailee Duryea, Kelly Ernst, Luke Farny, Lucille Franklin, Aleck Gantick, Noah Glaisher, Brett Gordon, Krista Halsnes, Emily Hannah, Errik Hill, Mallory Hoots, Evan Hornstein, Katherine Hostetler, Calandra Hvambsal, Elizabeth Klemer, Brandon Krentz, Lucas Krey, Laura Kuczkowski, Emily Laurinec-Studer, Taylor Loomis, Erik Lynch, Thomas Lyon, Owen McIntosh, Madison Mckinstry, Morgan Mertz, Jacob Miller, Daniel Moran, Shea O’Brien, Mary O’Connell, Jessica Orton, Natalie Pearl, Danielle Perry, Haley Piske, Alexandra Porter, Willow Post, Meghan Rabbitt, Mallory Richey, Hayley Richman, Murphy Roberts, Kai Rogers, Kyle Rogers, Kathleen Ross, Tyler Saxe, Madeline Schaffrick, Stefan Schildge, Margaret Stanford, Gabriella Strnad, Eric Trousil, Christine Valicenti, Katelin Verploeg, John Wharton, Virginia Whelihan, Sarah White, Stephen Wilson, Hunter Zacher

8th grade Sophie Abate, Tucker Allen, Justin Anderson, Robert Anderson, Tanner Anderson, Russell Andres, Christopher Barounos, Alexander Bashan, Marisa Beggs, Joan Bier, Laura Bradfield, Hayley Brookshire, Connor Brown, Greta Byrne, Alan Capistron, Julia Churchill, Jackson Coe, Blayne Conroy, Cassady Daley, Kayla Delancey, Evan DePuy, Linnea Dixson, Rachel Dobell, Jessica Dunlop, Mirko Erspamer, Kayleigh Esswein, Catherine Fischer, Amelia Flaharty, Michaela Frias, Conor Garrecht-Connelly, Jeffrey Gay, Natalie Geer, Aaron Ginesta, Robert Glass, Kevin Gower, Connor Hagerty, Maura Hartley, Kimberly Heald, Justine Henderson, Nicolas Hessenberger, Maria Hillenbrand, Kaitlin Hitchcock, Ryan Hogrefe, Sara Hoing, Christopher Holmquist, Wilson Horner, Katelyn Ihrig, Kyle Kounovsky, Danielle Krey, Eva Lambek, Corinne Landy, Katheryn Lettunich, Emma Lichtenfels, Meghan Lukens, Jessica Mader, Brandon Marr, Benjamin Massey, Grant McCannon, Kendall McGill, Hannah Moore, Molly Moore, Matthew O’Donnell, Hannah Ogden, Erik Owen, Cheyenne Palmer, Claire Parsons, Jenna Peters, Anne Poirot, Megan Rae, Austin Ritzel, Keegan Rogan, Kate Rusk, Michael Savory, Maxx Schaller, Lauren Siegel, Brodee Smith-Lawrence, Jeffrey Sperry, Tara Spitellie, Kathleen Stack, Elizabeth Stout, Shelby Struble, Holly Thompson, Laina Weinman, Skylar Weir, John Wendt, Patrick Weston, Natalie Wright

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


State mental health safety net is ‘failing’ Coloradans

Emma Harmon, of Durango, is pictured with journals she has kept about her mental health challenges. She said Axis Health System would not help her when in crisis. “The way things seem to work there, you’d actually have to have killed yourself before they’d meet with you.” | Jerry McBride/Durango Herald

See more