Council to appoint tax policy group |

Council to appoint tax policy group

Christine Metz

— The Steamboat Springs City Council is expected to appoint nine members to the city’s new tax policy group at tonight’s council meeting.

Recommended for appointment are Jack Dysart, Audrey Enever, Wade Gebhardt, Scott Glackman, John Greig, Nancy Nagler, Kenneth Solomon, Richard Tremaine and Frederick Wolf.

The appointees were recommended by an interview committee comprised of council members Kathy Connell, Steve Ivancie, Susan Dellinger and Nancy Kramer. The interview committee chose the nine members, three alternates and one community resource representative out of 21 applicants.

The tax policy group is tasked with looking at potential revenue sources for the city and exploring alternative funding for existing budget items. Connell said the council hopes to have a final report by the end of June, and the tax policy group is expected to start meeting as soon as possible.

The three alternates are James “Jake” Henry, Steve Lewis and Chloe Scholes. Scott Ford, who is a counselor at the Small Business Development Center at the Colorado Mountain College and a member of the Economic Development Council, was designated as a community resource representative.

Connell said the interview committee wanted the group to represent the working class, business community, and county. The tax policy committee also needed someone who had a long-term history of the city’s tax policy and another person who could bring in an outside perspective, Connell said.

Recommended Stories For You

Above all, Connell said, the interview committee was looking for members who had open minds and were able to analyze the city’s tax structure.

“It is a great group of people with a wide diverse background,” Connell said.

Dysart is semi-retired and helped campaign for the city’s fire tax last November. He is in the U.S. Navy Reserves and has a BA in economics, two years of post-graduate study in business administration and a professional certificate in financial planning.

Enever worked on the city’s 1984 Blue Ribbon Committee that helped direct the city’s tax policy at the time and proposed using sales tax revenue for summer marketing She was also on the committee that explored alternatives to the bond issue that failed for a new Steamboat Springs High School.

Gebhardt is the manager of business banking at Wells Fargo Bank in Northwest Colorado. In his application to the city, Gebhardt wrote he could bring a broad perspective on the implications tax changes could have for businesses and individuals.

Glackman is one of the publishers at The Local. In his application, Glackman indicated he interacts with 18 to 40 year olds, a segment of the community he believes is under represented but equally affected by tax policy.

Greig is a retired businessman who has helped the Steamboat Springs Arts Council with its financial planning.

A newcomer to Steamboat, Nagler has more than 15 years of government and nonprofit experience in the St. Paul and Minneapolis area. Nagler has worked on affordable housing and poverty issues and was a program officer for one of the largest community foundations in the country, the Minneapolis Foundation.

Solomon is one of the city’s two required representatives from the county and is a general contractor.

Tremaine, an attorney, served three years on the City Council. He served on the Downtown Development Authority that looked at alternative funding for capital projects.

Wolf, a 15-year-county resident, brings experience as a partner at Price Waterhouse, an assistant comptroller general of the United States General Accounting Office and a partner at Arthur Anderson. While living in Routt County, Wolf has served as co-chairman of Vision 2020 and as a member of the Routt County Planning Commission.

— To reach Christine Metz call 871-4229

or e-mail