Council fills a variety of seats on city panels |

Council fills a variety of seats on city panels

— Steamboat Springs City Council confirmed the appointment this week of 17 residents to commissions and committees that study recreation and open space issues.

The appointments were to six different bodies, ranging from the Ice Rink Advisory Committee to the Trails and River Committee.

Appointed this week to two-year terms on the Parks and Recreation Commission were Aaron Ciszek, Gary S. Engle, Matt Tredway and Pete Wither. Bobby Yeager was named to serve as an alternate for two years.

Ciszek and Yeager are new to the commission. Ciszek has been a volunteer cross country and track coach at Steamboat Springs High School. He is a continuing education course coordinator at the Institute of Physical Art in Steamboat. Issues he hopes to focus on include maintaining a balance between revenue-generating endeavors like Triple Crown softball and the availability of facilities for residents. Ciszek also sees a need for the commission to make a contribution to maintaining affordable quality child care.

Yeager is a self-employed contractor He is also vice president of the Yampa Valley Cutter and Chariot Association.

“I feel that my voice would well represent a segment of the population that is unheard,” Yeager said. “My family and I actively participate in many programs through parks and rec. I would enjoy being an active part of the decision making that molds the future direction of parks and rec.”

Bridget Ferguson, Kent Vertrees and Janet Selbe were all newly named to the Trails and River Committee.

Ferguson is the office manager and co-owner of Fairview Construction. Vertrees is a whitewater rafting, fishing and snowmobile guide who is employed at Matt and Brian’s Outdoor Store. Selbe is self-employed and has previous experience in marketing the Steamboat Pro Rodeo Series.

Peter Patten is a new two-year member of the Tennis Advisory Committee, filling an existing vacancy.

Doug Bradfield and Al Rosenthal have accepted four-year terms on the Howelsen Hill Committee, which makes recommendations to the Parks and Recreation Commission. Both are incumbents. Sue Beauregard Rife will serve as an alternate with the Howelsen group for four years.

Named to the Ice Rink Advisory Committee for two-year terms were Steve Dawes, Daryl Dombrowski, Fred Power and M. Anthony Vaida. All four are incumbents.

David Nagel and Johnny Walker were appointed to two-year terms on the Spring Creek Advisory/Monitoring Committee.

In addition to committees pertaining to recreation and open space, City Council named members to the Historic Preservation Commission and the Board of Adjustment/Sign Review Board. Lara Craig will serve three years on the Historic Preservation Commission. Alex Berger and Thomas Effinger were named to three-year terms on the Board of Adjustment/Sign Review Board. David Levine will serve as an alternate. He is new to the board.

— To reach Tom Ross call 871-4210 or e-mail

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more