Club honors 34, celebrates the season |

Club honors 34, celebrates the season

— It should be a busy summer for the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club, not only with its cycling programs, but with construction set to begin on a new ski trail at Steamboat Ski Area, a lighted race and training venue that should only expand options for young local skiing dreamers.

Before any of that begins, however, the club took time last week to reflect on its recently finished season, handing out awards April 15 to recognize the best performances of what was a long and successful season for club skiers.

In a ceremony at Howelsen Hill in Olympian Hall, the club recognized its best.

That included many of the athletes who grabbed headlines all season long.

Logan Sankey was awarded the Bea Kirby Trophy.

Women’s ski jumping is relatively new to the Olympics, and Sankey is among the first Steamboat women to make the U.S. team in the sport, but the Kirby Trophy, recognizing the most improved female Nordic jumper, has been awarded in Steamboat since 1993.

Lars Hannah was given the award for cross country outstanding performance, seemingly an easy choice after he won a national championship at the Junior Nationals competition in California.

In all, 27 athletes, one club member and seven coaches were recognized. Of the coaches, Eric Cates won the Woodside Foundation-Laughlin Coach award, Tracy Riser from award for the snowboard program, Karl Denney from the Nordic combined program, Dr. Bill Philip from the cross country program, Rusty Davison from the Telemark program, Cedar Beauregard from the Alpine skiing program and Bridget Lipman from the freestyle skiing program.

The complete list is as follow:

Bea Kirby Trophy: Logan Sankey

Snowboarding excellence award: Johnny Duty

Cross country outstanding performance award: Lars Hannah

Hobart Freestyle Award: Zach Rosa

Snowboarding outstanding performance award: Ben Larson

Telemark Reipelykkje award: Anthony Tucciarone

Freestyle Coaches Cup: Landon Wendler

Erika Mueller Snowboard Spirit award: Rosie Mancari

Ned Grant Memorial Trophy: Mary Kate Hackworthy and Grant Andrews

Ritter Memorial Courage Cup: Abby Habermehl

Stahly Memorial Award: Avital Shimko

Wilbur Madsen Memorial Award: Lucas Rowse

The Asher Lesyshen-Kirlan Award: Charlie Reisman

Barrett Burch Memorial Trophy: Jeff Sturges and Caroline Fitzgerald

Freestyle Pursuit of Excellence Award: Xander Tatar-Brown

Buddy Werner Bronze: Marissa Drobek and Alex Orozco

Charles Abernathy Memorial “True Grit” award: Billy Winters

Mary C. Magill Memorial Skimeister award: Reid Sias

Chris McNeill Memorial award: Anna Burkholder

Ashley Stamp Memorial award: Raffaela Pietras

The Skeeter Award: Olivia Flake

John Fetcher Honorary Sustaining Member: Laura Foulk

Freeskier Vision Award: Payton McElhiney

Tyler Gooding Memorial Award: Cole Puckett

Woodside Foundation-Laughlin Coach Award: Eric Cates

SSWSC Snowboard Coach of the Year: Tracy Riser

SSWSC Nordic Combined Coach of the Year: Karl Denney

SSWSC Cross County Coach of the Year: Dr. Bill Philip

SSWSC Telemark Coach of the Year: Rusty Davison

SSWSC Alpine Youth Coach of the Year: Cedar Beaurgard

SSWSC Freestyle Coach of the Year: Bridget Lipman

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User