Award nominations needed |

Award nominations needed

Museum honors those who have served the Yampa Valley

— Some people shape the Yampa Valley more than the documentation of history gives them credit for.

The Tread of Pioneers Museum is doing its part to make sure those people’s contributions are remembered.

Every year, the Tread of Pioneers Museum and the Leckenby/Larson Awards Committee recognize two individuals who have enriched the quality of life in Routt County.

“The awards give the community a chance to look at the people around them who give their time to really make a difference,” said Candice Lombardo, executive director of the museum. “It’s always a tough decision, and that’s what makes it so special.”

The awards are based on a public nomination process, she said.

“These people have been nominated by the community, their peers, co-workers or someone they volunteered with,” Lombardo said.

Nominees for the Leckenby Pioneer Award must have lived in the county for at least 30 years, though they don’t have to be current residents. Nominees should demonstrate personal integrity and be an inspiration to youths. They also must be involved with the community, be responsive to the needs of the community and serve as a representative of the history of the community.

“If you look at the criteria of the award, it defines the purpose of the award,” Lombardo said. “To honor citizens who have served our public institutions, preserved our local history or contributed significantly to the county’s heritage.”

The Stanley L. Larson Award is granted to a person who has died and who made a major contribution to Routt County.

“There are so many people who have given their time to make the valley so special,” Lombardo said. “This is an annual opportunity to honor those people publicly.”

Lombardo encourages residents to re-nominate anyone who may have been nominated in the past.

“The committee will review previous year nominations, but we encourage people to resubmit those nominations for reconsideration this year,” she said. “And a description of their personal accomplishments and reasons why he or she should receive the award would be helpful.”

Nominations can be dropped off at the museum, 800 Oak St.; sent to P.O. Box 772372, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477; or e-mailed to Nominations are due Oct. 6. Call 879-2214 for more information.

The award will be presented during a ceremony in October.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User