At the height of summer, reach for a couple fast-paced thrillers | SteamboatToday.com
YOUR AD HERE »

At the height of summer, reach for a couple fast-paced thrillers

“Something In The Water”

by Catherine Steadman

“Something In The Water” by Catherine Steadman is a perfect beach read because the action begins in Bora Bora. 



Erin and Mark seem to have it all.  Mark is a successful banker and Erin is a documentary filmmaker, ironically doing a film on prison inmates.  Unfortunately, Mark loses his job at the height of wedding planning adding to some stress and shortening their long Bora Bora honeymoon. 

During another blissful day of scuba diving the couple finds a duffel bag floating in the water filled with $1 million cash and $1 million in diamonds, a zip drive and a cellphone.  What would you do?  The choices that they make take the reader down a winding road of noir.

Participate in The Longevity Project

The Longevity Project is an annual campaign to help educate readers about what it takes to live a long, fulfilling life in our valley. This year Kevin shares his story of hope and celebration of life with his presentation Cracked, Not Broken as we explore the critical and relevant topic of mental health.



This book is definitely for fans of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, Shari Lapena and Gillian Flynn.  A fun side note is that Steadman is an English actor, most notably known from “Downton Abbey.” Turns out she has quite a flair with the pen because this book hooks you from the first line; “Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?”

“Then She Was Gone” 

by Lisa Jewell

This book starts out as so many in this genre do. A compelling mystery surrounding a missing girl.  Fifteen-year-old Ellie Mack, her mother’s golden child, goes missing on her way to study at the library.  But instead of delving straight into the mystery we get a glimpse inside Ellie’s head similar to “Lovely Bones” but not as grim. 

Most of the book is written from the mother’s perspective, however we also get some time into the head of the perpetrator. Ten years later the mother Lauren is able to find some closure and even find love and joy again through her new boyfriend Floyd and his daughter Poppy.  However, there are secrets that may lead to resolution to the mystery of Ellie’s disappearance. 

This book is a compelling read that starts out a little slow. Jewell is such a good writer that you will enjoy that she takes her time really developing these characters fully.  It does really pick up the pace. By the time you are half way through this book you will not be able to put it down.

“The Outsider” 

by Stephen King

Want to delve into something a little thicker?  “The Outsider” reminds us of his previous ’80s monsters.  This shape shifting child killer definitely brings forth Pennywise.  But the issues that are dealt with through this monster are very current.  Social media, truth and fake news are some of the hot topics that King throws out in our Trump-era mindset. 

For those who enjoyed the Mr. Mercedes Trilogy, King brings back a powerhouse character to help solve this supernatural mystery.  The audio is read by Will Patton and he is amazing. I found myself sitting in the driveway just listening to this book.  So for fans of classic King and fans of current King, there is much to enjoy.

These titles are available at Off the Beaten Path and Bud Werner Memorial Library.

Kim Brack is a bookseller at Off The Beaten Path bookstore.


Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

 

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


Arts