Local judge ends career on bench opening spot in 14th Judicial District | SteamboatToday.com

Local judge ends career on bench opening spot in 14th Judicial District

CRAIG — A little more than a month after Judge Sandra Gardner announced her retirement from the Moffat County Court, the 14th Judicial District is now dealing with a second opening, as Judge Shelley Hill announced her retirement Wednesday, effective Jan. 12, 2021.

The 14th Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet via video conference on Aug. 28 to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the 14th Judicial District which covers Routt, Moffat and Grand counties.

To be eligible, the applicant must be a qualified elector of the 14th Judicial District at the time of investiture and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years, according to a press release from the district. The current annual salary for this position is $173,248. The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of six years.

Applications are available on the court’s home page at courts.state.co.us/careers/judge.cfm.

The completed application must be e-mailed to the address listed in the instructions no later than 4 p.m. Aug. 13. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex-officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. Aug. 6. Under the rules of the 14th Judicial District Nominating Commission, names of the applicants shall be made public once the application period is closed.

Participate in The Longevity Project

The Longevity Project is an annual campaign to help educate readers about what it takes to live a long, fulfilling life in our valley. This year Kevin shares his story of hope and celebration of life with his presentation Cracked, Not Broken as we explore the critical and relevant topic of mental health.

The members of the nominating commission for the 14th Judicial District are: James Osborne of Craig; Harper Louden, Matthew Tjosvold, Randall Salky, Ryan Dougherty, and Lulu Gould, all of Steamboat Springs; and Sandra Doudna of Grand Lake.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User