13 community members file for Steamboat Springs City Council race | SteamboatToday.com

13 community members file for Steamboat Springs City Council race

The Steamboat Springs City Council deliberates during a meeting.
Scott Franz

— Steamboat Springs voters will have plenty of options this November when they choose the elected officials they want to oversee such important tasks as hiring a new city manager and possibly building a new public safety facility.

Thirteen community members filed to run for the Steamboat Springs City Council ahead of Monday’s filing deadline.

All four seats are now contested, and six candidates are vying for the District 1 spot.

The candidates are young and old, politically experienced and political newcomers.

And with Council President Bart Kounovsky and Councilwoman Sonja Macys sitting out the race, there are guaranteed to be four new council members come November.

City Clerk Julie Franklin said she hasn’t seen this many candidates file for a city council race during her 15 years in the clerk’s office.

Planning commissioners.


Young professionals.

The race is poised to feature these candidates and more.

The new city council members will inherit several tasks currently are in flux, including selecting a new permanent manager for the city, possibly pursuing a shared public safety facility with Routt County, considering affordable housing policies and prioritizing millions of dollars worth of potential infrastructure improvements downtown.

Steamboat Today will soon profile and feature each of the candidates to learn more about why they are running.

Here’s an early look at who has filed for a shot at the job:

District 1

Rich Levy, Steamboat Springs planning commissioner, massage therapist

Patrick Slowey, history teacher at Steamboat Springs High School

Tim Kirkpatrick, businessman, former owner of Steamboat Flyfisher

Robin Crossan, Steamboat Springs School Board member

Angela Finnegan, residential assessor for Routt County

Michael Shaler, Steamboat Leadership Institute

District 2

Michael Buccino, interior designer, owner of Steamboat Interiors

Jason Lacy, Steamboat Springs Planning Commission chairman, partner at Steamboat Lawyers Group,

District 3

Heather McLaughlin-Sloop, community affairs and regulatory manager at Southwestern Energy

Erin Walker, Young Professionals Network, Development Director at Strings Music Festival

Christopher Harnden, Colorado Mountain College Counselor

At large

Chuck McConnell, retired chemical engineer, author

Kathi Meyer, Yampa Valley Housing Authority board president, Steamboat Springs Planning commissioner, retired commercial real estate lender

City Clerk Julie Franklin has started the process of certifying the candidates’ petitions.

If it is determined any candidate has not collected enough valid signatures, he or she will be given an additional three days to collect the required number.

To reach Scott Franz, call 970-871-4210, email scottfranz@SteamboatToday.com or follow him on Twitter @ScottFranz10

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User