Winter Carnival sculpture winners announced |

Winter Carnival sculpture winners announced

— Steamboat Springs High School announced winners of the student sculpture contest, which took place Friday during the 98th annual Winter Carnival.

Winners were awarded Steamboat Springs Chamber Resort Association bucks — $90 for first, $60 for second and $30 for third.

They are: first place for Superman — Abraham Rodriguez, Brandon Puentes, Jose Maldonado, Enrique Lopes, Laura Gamero and Claudia Janette Najera; second place for Lighted Man — Michael Yost, Cutter Pasternak and Andrhey Martinez; and third place for Robby the Robot — Silvia Ballesteros, Alex Ballesteros, Joe Madden, Shayne Matthews and Caito Ormesher.

Two teams won honorable mention: Peanut the Penguin — Ellen Davis, Jacob Labossiere, Sean Seams, Christian Poirot and Alex Repollo; and Snoopy’s Dog House — Allie Hay, Heather Seams, Kristi Richardson, Patrick Paulsen and Anna Woodfield.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Steamboat and Routt County make the Steamboat Pilot & Today’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User

Explore Steamboat

Spoke Talk: A race nearly 18 months in the making

In late 2019, Routt County Riders and Partners in Routt County were handed the blueprints for what had previously been known as the Steamboat Stinger. With the birth of the Honey Stinger Emerald Mountain Epic,…

See more