Election 2019 | SteamboatToday.com


Election 2019

Live updates: 2019 Election Day in Routt County

The issues

State ballot issues

Proposition CC would allow the state government to keep all of the money it collects from existing sources every year over the existing revenue limit and spend the money for public schools, higher education and transportation projects, rather than refund it to taxpayers.
Proposition DD would legalize sports betting and authorize a state tax on casinos’ net sports betting proceeds with 90 percent of revenue collected to be used to create a dedicated source of the funding for the Colorado Water Plan.

Local ballot issues

Ballot issue No. 2A is a 2-mill levy to support Steamboat Springs Fire Rescue and EMS.
Ballot issue No. 4A is a mill levy to provide wage and benefit increases for the Steamboat Springs School District
Ballot issue No. 4B is a mill levy override to provide operational support for new pre-K to eighth grade school facility and operational costs at other Steamboat Springs School District facilities
Ballot issue No. 4C a $79.5 million bond initiative to fund construction of a new pre-K to eighth-grade school at Steamboat 11 and improvements and construction projects at all district schools.
Ballot issue No. 7A would expand the Colorado Mountain College taxing district, which includes Steamboat Springs, to include the area served by the Salida School District

The candidates

Local candidates

Steamboat Springs City Council, two-year term at-large
Jason Lacy
George Krawzoff

Steamboat Springs City Council, four-year term District 1 (uncontested)
• Robin Crossan

Steamboat Springs City Council, four-year term District 2 (uncontested)
• Michael Buccino

Steamboat Springs City Council, four-year term District 3 (uncontested)
• Heather Sloop

Steamboat Springs School Board, four-year term (three open)
Lara Craig
Kim Brack
Tony Russo
Joey Andrew
Kelly Latterman

Steamboat Springs School Board, two-year term
Chresta Brinkman
Andrew Heppelmann

Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees, four-year term District 2
Mary Nelle Axelson
Marianne Virgili

Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees, four-year term District 4 (uncontested)
• Patricia J Theobald

Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees, four-year term District 5 (uncontested)
• Bob Kuusinen

Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees, four-year term District 6
Bob Hartzell
Christine Whittington

Colorado Mountain College Board of Trustees, four-year term District 7 (uncontested)
• Chris Romer

General information

Register to vote at sos.state.co.us or in person at the Routt County Clerk & Recorder’s Office  

Ballot drop-off locations

Ballots may be cast by mail, at drop-off locations or in person at a Voter Service & Polling Center location (see below for location).

The election is a mail ballot election. All eligible, registered voters will receive a ballot in the mail. Ballots must be received by 7 p.m. Election Day. Postmarks do not count.


• 24-hour drop-off box, located in the alley behind the Routt County Courthouse
• Clark Store, 54175 Routt County Road 129 in Clark*
• Oak Creek Town Hall, 129 Nancy Crawford Blvd. in Oak Creek*
• Hayden Town Hall, 178 W. Jefferson Ave. in Hayden*
• Yampa Town Hall, 101 Main St. in Yampa*
*Ballots dropped at these locations must be done so during regular business hours, beginning Oct. 14 through Election Day. Hayden Town Hall closes at noon on Fridays. All four drop-off sites will be picked up by 5 p.m. Election Day.

Voter service and polling centers

• Routt County Clerk and Recorder’s Office, 522 Lincoln Ave. in Steamboat Springs
8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, Oct. 21 to Nov. 4
10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2
7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Election Day
*The voter service and polling center at this location does not formally open until Oct. 28.
*ADA accessible voting machines are available at this location
If voting in person, remember to bring valid ID such as a driver’s license or U.S. Passport.

Sample ballots

Within Steamboat Springs city limits
Rural districts outside of Steamboat Springs city limits but within Steamboat Springs School District
West Routt and South Routt

2019 Election Forum videos

Latest election coverage