Election 2021 | SteamboatToday.com

Election 2021 >

Election 2021

Custom HTML – please do not modify
Original Editors Only

The election is Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2021. Use this page to learn about the candidates, the ballot issues, how and where to vote and live results on Election Day. ➡️ Scroll to the bottom of this page to view information on how and where to vote.

The candidates

Steamboat Springs City Council – District 1

(Vote for one)

Gail Garey

David Baldinger Jr.

Steamboat Springs City Council – District 2

(Vote for one)

Joella West

Blair Picard

Loui Antonucci

Steamboat Springs City Council – District 3

(Vote for one)

Dakotah McGinlay

Steven Randall

Walter Magill

Daniel Gerke

Steamboat Springs City Council – At-large

(Vote for one)

Dave Moloney

Edward V. Briones

• Christopher Jason Harris Jr.

• Peter Hunter (withdrawn)

Steamboat Springs School District Board of Education

(Vote for two)

Chresta Brinkman (incumbent)

Katherine “Katy” Lee (incumbent)

Christopher Wells Waters

Ken Mauldin

Hayden School District Board of Education

(Vote for three)

Timothy Frentress Sr. (incumbent)

Aden Morrison (incumbent)

• Kevin Copeland

Alicia Doolin

Kevin Kleckler

• Robbie Leach

Ryan Wattles

South Routt School District Board of Education – District 1

(Vote for one)

• Lance Miles (incumbent)

South Routt School District Board of Education – District 3

(Vote for one)

• Jamie Hoff (incumbent)

South Routt School District Board of Education – District 4

(Vote for one)

• Colette Burris (incumbent)

South Routt School District Board of Education – District 6

(Vote for one)

Stephanie Carolus

Jeffery Clyncke

The issues

For all local voters:

Amendment 78: Legislative authority for spending state money

• Transfers the power to appropriate custodial funds (state revenue not generated through taxes) from the state treasurer to the state legislature

Proposition 119: Learning Enrichment and Academic Progress program

• Creates an out-of-school education program and a board to govern it and increases the marijuana retail sales tax by 5% to partially fund the program

Proposition 120: Property tax assessment rate reduction

• Reduces the residential and non-residential property tax rates; authorizes the state to retain and spend $25 million in revenue above the state’s TABOR spending cap, which it would otherwise be required to refund to taxpayers

For voters within the West Routt Fire Protection District:

Referendum 6A

• Increases taxes for properties within the West Routt Fire Protection District by $349,908 through a 3-mill increase to the district’s current levy, which amounts to $21.45 per $100,000 of assessed property value per year and $87 per $100,000 of commercial property value per year. The funds would be used for maintenance, repairs and the addition of personnel.

How and where to vote

Register to vote or check your registration at govotecolorado.com or in person at the Routt County Clerk & Recorder’s Office.

Ballots will be mailed in October. Contact the Routt County Clerk & Recorder’s office at 970-870-5558 for more information.

Ballots may be cast by mail, at drop-off locations or in person at a Voter Service & Polling Center location (see below for locations).

You can track your ballot at coloradoballottrax.com.

All eligible, registered voters will receive a ballot in the mail. Ballots must be received by 7 p.m. Election Day. Postmarks do not count.

Drop-off locations

• 24-hour drop-off box, located in the alley behind the Historic Routt County Courthouse in downtown Steamboat Springs
• The Clark Store, 54175 Routt County Road 129 in Clark*
• Oak Creek Town Hall, 129 Nancy Crawford Blvd. in Oak Creek*
• Hayden Town Hall, 178 W. Jefferson Ave. in Hayden*
• Yampa Town Hall, 101 Main St. in Yampa*
*Ballots dropped at these locations must be done so during regular business hours. Hayden and Oak Creek Town Hall closes at noon on Fridays. All drop-off sites will be picked up at 5 p.m. on Election Day.

Polling places

The Voter Service and Polling Centers for the Nov. 3 election will be at the following locations:

Routt County Historic Courthouse, 522 Lincoln Ave., Steamboat Springs 

Further reading